Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
THE HISTORY OF BREAD
History of Bread by
Call Number: TX769 .D83 1999
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
For thousands of years, bread has been humanity's most universal food. Complete with 20 recipes and illustrated with 500 paintings, drawings, photographs and documents, this book traces the history and cycle of breadmaking, from the sowing of the grain to the baking process.
The Bagel by
Call Number: TX770 .B35 B35 2008
Publication Date: 2008-11-25
This charming book tells the remarkable story of the bagel’s journey from the tables of seventeenth-century Poland to the freezers of middle America today, a story of often surprising connections and centuries of Polish, Jewish, and American history. Research in international archives and numerous personal interviews uncover the bagel’s links with the defeat of the Turks by Polish King Jan Sobieski in 1683, the Yiddish cultural revival of the late nineteenth century, and Jewish migration across the Atlantic to America. There the story moves from the bakeries of New York’s Lower East Side to the Bagel Bakers’ Local 388 Union of the 1960s, and the attentions of the mob. For all its modest size, the bagel has managed to bridge cultural gaps, rescue kings from obscurity, charge the emotions, and challenge received wisdom.
Call Number: TX769 .M36 2008
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Throughout changing history and changing civilisations, bread's importance has been expressed in folklore, culture, religion and politics. Bread symbolises fertility, prosperity and protection against evil, and provides healing and consolation in times of hardship. It is also good to eat. The past 130 years, in particular, have seen dramatic changes in the way bread is made and in the patterns of consumption. Whether you like your bread white, sliced and wrapped or stone-ground and wholemeal or in the form of baguettes, bagels or brioche, this book will tell you how it evolved and the technological, social and economic changes that brought the various forms to your local baker or supermarket.
Good Bread Is Back: a contemporary history of French bread by
Call Number: TX769 .K28713 2006
Publication Date: 2006-12-20
Widely recognized as a leading expert on French bread, the historian Steven Laurence Kaplan takes readers into aromatic Parisian bakeries as he explains how good bread began to reappear in France in the 1990s, following almost a century of decline in quality. Kaplan sets the stage for the comeback of good bread by describing how, while bread comprised the bulk of the French diet during the eighteenth century, by the twentieth, per capita consumption had dropped off precipitously. This was largely due to social and economic modernization and the availability of a wider choice of foods. But part of the problem was that the bread did not taste good. Centuries-old artisanal breadmaking techniques were giving way to conveyor belts that churned out flavorless fluff. In a culture in which bread is sacrosanct, bad bread was more than a gastronomical disappointment; it was a threat to France's sense of itself. With a nudge from the millers (who make the flour) and assistance from the government, bakers rallied, reclaiming their reputations as artisans by marketing their traditionally made loaves as the authentic French bread. By the mid-1990s, bread officially designated as "bread of the French tradition"--bread made without additives or freezing--was in demand throughout Paris. What makes this artisanal bread good? Kaplan explains, meticulously describing the ideal crust and crumb (interior), mouth feel, aroma, and taste. He discusses the breadmaking process in extraordinary detail, from the ingredients to the kneading, shaping, and baking, and even to the sound bread should make when it comes out of the oven. He offers a system for assessing bread's quality and a language for discussing its attributes. A historian and a connoisseur,
GUIDE TO BREAD
This guide has been designed especially for culinary arts students and everyone interested in all things bread. Explore the guide to find books, articles, and other information sources for your research and creative inspirations.
The Bread Bible by
Call Number: TX769 .B365 2003
Publication Date: 2003-10-17
The Bread Bible gives bread bakers 150 of the meticulous, foolproof recipes that are Rose Levy Beranbaum's trademark. Her knowledge of the chemistry of baking, the accessibility of her recipes, and the incomparable taste of her creations make this book invaluable for home cooks and professional bakers alike. Recipes include bread made with yeast starters, quick breads, flatbreads, brioche, and much more. From ciabatta, semolina, rye, and sourdough breads to bagels, biscuits, crumpets, and pizza dough, The Bread Bible covers all the baking bases. "Understanding" and "Pointers for Success" sections explain in simple, readable language the importance of various techniques and ingredients demonstrated in a recipe, providing a complete education in the art of baking, with thorough sections on types of flour, equipment, and other essentials. Easy-to-use ingredient tables provide both volume and weight, for surefire recipes that work perfectly every time.
Call Number: TX769 .H235 2004
Publication Date: 2004-09-03
The warm, complex aroma of a fresh-baked loaf of bread can be utterly tantalizing; the first bite, a revelation. In Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes, award-winning master baker Jeffrey Hamelman presents the definitive, one-stop reference on the art and science of bread baking - a kitchen essential for seasoned home bakers and professionals alike. Hamelman, a professional baker for nearly three decades, was a member of the United States national baking team that won first place in the 1996 Coupe du Monde de la Boulangerie, the bread-baking World Cup. Here, he shares this experience, putting world-class artisanal loaves within reach of any serious baker. Opening with a comprehensive overview of the foundations - essential ingredients; hand techniques for kneading, scoring, and shaping; the basic process from mixing through baking - he lucidly guides bakers through all elements of this richly rewarding craft. Bread contains 118 detailed, step-by-step recipes for an array of breads: versatile sourdough ryes; breads made with pre-ferments; and simple, straight dough loaves. Recipes for brioche, focaccia, pizza dough, flat breads, and other traditional baking staples augment the diverse collection of flavors, tastes, and textures represented within these pages. From the delicate flavor and aroma of classic French baguettes to the mellow smoothness of Roasted Garlic Levain, a bread for every season and every palate is here. Each recipe clearly outlines the key stages, with easy-to-use charts that list ingredients in both American and metric measures, quantities appropriate for home baking, and baker's percentages. Hundreds of drawings vividly illustrate techniques, and 35 handsome color photographs display finished breads. Sidebars accompany each recipe and section with valuable tips, from the subtle art of tasting and evaluating breads to the perfect fare to complement Vollkornbrot. A complete chapter on decorative breads - with instructions on techniques as well as a wide variety of exquisite patterns - will inspire magnificent display creations. Laced throughout the book, Hamelman's personal narratives offer a compelling portrait of a lifelong love affair with bread and vividly communicate this passion. For bakers seeking to finesse this time-honored craft or simply to learn the tricks of the trade from a real master, Bread is a resource to be consulted time and time again.
Call Number: TX763 .H46 2002
Publication Date: 2002-11-14
A warm slice of bread, fresh from the oven and spread with butter, is one of life's simple pleasures. Whether it's a traditional whole-wheat loaf, a crusty baguette, or tender blueberry muffins, the delicious taste and aroma of home-baked bread appeals to all of our senses. Best of all, delectable baked goods will delight friends and family alike. Williams-Sonoma Collection Bread offers more than 40 delicious recipes, from traditional yeast breads to convenient quick breads, including breakfast treats such as muffins and scones. Whether you are in search of a savory sourdough loaf to serve with soup, simple dinner rolls to enhance the holiday table, or classic banana bread for an afternoon snack, this book includes recipes for every occasion. In addition, a final chapter on international breads, such as Italian focaccia or French brioche, rounds out this essential collection for the home baker. Enticing photographs of each recipe make it easy to choose which bread to bake, and photographic side notes give insight into each recipe. Including all the techniques essential to mastering the art of making bread -- from mixing and kneading to rising and baking -- here is everything you need to bake the perfect loaf.
Flour Water Salt Yeast by
Call Number: TX769 .F67 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
From Portland's most acclaimed and beloved baker comes this must-have baking guide, featuring scores of recipes for world-class breads and pizzas and a variety of schedules suited for the home baker. In Flour Water Salt Yeast, author Ken Forkish demonstrates that high-quality artisan bread and pizza is within the reach of any home baker. Whether it's a basic straight dough, dough made with a pre-ferment, or a complex levain, each of Forkish's impeccable recipes yields exceptional results. Tips on creating and adapting bread baking schedules that fit in reader's day-to-day lives-enabling them to bake the breads they love in the time they have available-make Flour Water Salt Yeast an indispensable resource for bakers, be they novices or serious enthusiasts.