Research Guides: MKT240 Principles of Marketing : Industry/Company/Demographics Info

Top Resources

Value Line Library Elite This link opens in a new window
In-depth financial information, including market and financial data on U.S. companies, mutual funds and other securities, industry sectors, indices and economic variables, plus commentary and insights on companies, industries, markets and the economy.

Search for Company Information

Under the BROWSE RESEARCH tab, Enter the ticker, company, or industry name and click on the suggested name that populates
Click on PDF Reports and select a date to view a detailed report

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Worldwide business information including private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.

Search for Company Information

Enter your company's name or ticker symbol and select the company from the drop down list
Browse the information under the Company Overview tab
Hover over the Company Overview tab and select
- Company Description
- Company History
- Product and Operation

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Source for international business intelligence to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries, and industries.

Search for Company Information

Enter your company name or ticker symbol or industry into the search box and choose either your company from the Company Profiles or your industry from the Industry Profiles drop-down menu
Browse through the Company Profile to view the Company History or Industry Profile to learn more

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.

Search for Company Information

Enter your company's name (not ticker symbol) in the search box and click Search
If your company report is found, click on the your company's name to open the report

Note: the most useful reports will be from Hoover's Company Records

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.

To locate industry and company information:

Click into the database
Scroll down the homepage to the Company Overviews and Industry Overviews boxes
Find your company or industry and view the information listed there.

Google Finance
Business information, news and interactive charts
Investopedia
Investopedia offers an abundance of financial content, from articles, dictionary terms, tutorials and video, to frequently asked questions and exam prep quizzes.
Yahoo! Finance: Industry Center
A rich source of financial information with company profiles, SEC filings, annual reports, stock quotes, news, analysis, industry statistics and news, and information for investors. Historical quotes for stocks, bonds, and money markets are since 1970 and give daily, weekly, and monthly closing prices and dividends. Also see "Industry Browser" under "Tools" which allows you to browse industries by performance rankings, including ROE, P/E ratio, market cap, price change, price to book value, profit margin, price to book value, long term debt, and more. Enter your company symbol and click "View Industry".

Company websites and annual reports

Try this too! Yet another source of company information is a company's own website. There you may find all kinds of company information such as history, locations, products and services, executives and staffing, including links to annual reports, 10-K reports, market reports, research and development, etc... Information from private companies, especially small private companies may be difficult to find since they are not required to disclose detailed financial information.
Look for the Annual Report to Shareholders on the company web site which will provide basic financials and forecast future directions for the company and also Investor Relations pages which provide information for current and potential investors.

AnnualReports.com
Offers some of the most complete and up-to-date listings of online annual reports on the internet.

Librarian

Elizabeth Waugh

Email Me

Contact:

Madigan Library - LIB138
Sunday - Wednesday 1:00 - 9:00 pm
Thursday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Librarian for the School of Engineering Technologies and the School of Business, Arts & Sciences

570.320.2400 ext. 7742

Subjects: Baking & Culinary, Business Administration, Electrical, Electronics & Computer Engineering, Engineering & Industrial Design, Hospitality, Information Technology, Marketing, Sport & Event Management

Industry/Company/Demographics Information

Pew Research Center - Social & Demographic Trends
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. A complete picture of companies and business trends internationally.

U.S. Census Bureau
Provides statistical resources for people and households, business and industry, and geography. Included are links to state and county QuickFacts and Statistical Abstract of the United States.
State and County QuickFacts
Profiles are available for the nation, all 50 states plus the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and all counties. Places and county subdivisions with populations of 5,000 or more are also included.
Pennsylvania QuickFacts
Quick links from the U.S. Census Bureau providing various Pennsylvania demographics.

Compare Your Company to the Industry Using...

Value Line Library Elite This link opens in a new window

Compare to the Industry

Go to Browse Research, search for your company again, then go down the page to Industry Analysis where you can download/print a PDF of the industry

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Worldwide business information including private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.

Find Industry Details

Enter your company's name or ticker symbol and select the company from the drop down list
Under the Industry Details tab, click on the First Industry Research Reports listed by NAICS Codes and US SIC Codes

Investopedia
Investopedia offers an abundance of financial content, from articles, dictionary terms, tutorials and video, to frequently asked questions and exam prep quizzes.

Compare to the Industry

Enter your company's ticker symbol and click Get Quote
Click on the link to the specific industry you wish to compare underneath the daily quote

Yahoo! Finance: Industry Center
A rich source of financial information with company profiles, SEC filings, annual reports, stock quotes, news, analysis, industry statistics and news, and information for investors. Historical quotes for stocks, bonds, and money markets are since 1970 and give daily, weekly, and monthly closing prices and dividends. Also see "Industry Browser" under "Tools" which allows you to browse industries by performance rankings, including ROE, P/E ratio, market cap, price change, price to book value, profit margin, price to book value, long term debt, and more. Enter your company symbol and click "View Industry".

Compare to the Industry

Enter your company's ticker symbol and click Get Quote

Zacks.com: Stock Research & Ratings
Enter your stock symbol and choose your company from the list of suggested companies.

Compare to the Industry

Enter your company's ticker symbol and choose it from the suggested companies
Along the left-hand side menu, click on Comparison to Industry under the Research heading

Compare Your Company to the Competition Using...

Investing Center This link opens in a new window

Compare Companies

Enter you company's name or ticker symbol and select it from the list of suggested companies
In the "Jump to" menu(4 bars) go to Analysis
To the right of Morningstar Analysis click on Competitors
You can select any of the Charts to see a visual comparison

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Worldwide business information including private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.

Compare Companies

Enter your company's name or ticker symbol and select the company from the drop down list
Select the Competitors List tab under Company Details
Browse the list of competitors

Google Finance
Business information, news and interactive charts

Compare Companies

Search using your company's ticker symbol
Choose Compare and look at Related stocks
View by the most recent annual OR most recent quarter

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.

Find Competitors

Click on Advanced Search and change the drop-down box from Anywhere to Ticker Symbol
Enter your company's ticker symbol in the search box and click Search
If your company is found, click on the business's name and it will open the company's report
Search the document using Control+f search feature to search for competitors by name or by searching "competitor"

Value Line Library Elite This link opens in a new window

Compare Companies

Enter the company name or ticker symbol in the search box and choose the company from the list suggested
Go down to Industry Analysis and click on Read more
In the pop-up window, you get the industry analysis as well as a visual that includes other companies in the industry; mouse-over each to see the relative strength (ratio of the company to the industry), and click on the link to view a list of companies within that industry

You can also export a list of competitors

Enter the company name or ticker symbol in the search box and choose the company from the list suggested
Go down to Peers and click on Table
Click the small square in the top right corner of the Peers box for an expanded view of the competitor list
Click Download in the top right corner and choose to Export .CSV Format or Export to Excel

Online Statistical Resources

Statista This link opens in a new window
Market and consumer data and all things statistics. Downloadable data, numbers, and facts in various formats on various topics and industries.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Covers inflation and prices, employment, unemployment, pay and benefits, spending and time use, productivity, and workplace injuries.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Career Outlook
Career Outlook articles provide data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring information on hundreds of occupations.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Occupational Outlook Handbook A-Z Job Index
Browse within this Occupational Outlook Handbook's A-Z Index to find information on thousands of different jobs
Data.gov
Use this site to find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Pennsylvania State Data Center
The Commonwealth’s official source for demographic and economic data.
Population Reference Bureau
A private, nonprofit organization specializing in collecting and supplying statistics necessary for research and/or academic purposes focused on the environment, and health and structure of populations.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
U.S. Census Bureau
Provides statistical resources for people and households, business and industry, and geography. Included are links to state and county QuickFacts and Statistical Abstract of the United States.
U.S. Census Bureau NAICS Search
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

MKT240 Principles of Marketing : Industry/Company/Demographics Info

Top Resources

Company websites and annual reports

Librarian

Industry/Company/Demographics Information

Compare Your Company to the Industry Using...

Compare Your Company to the Competition Using...

Online Statistical Resources

Find Industry, Company, and Demographics Info