Research Guides: ACC341 Intermediate Accounting I: Industry Information from Articles

Find Industry Information from Articles Using...

Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles are a great source of information on industries. They are current and contain news on specific companies as well as industries as a whole. Included on this page are a list of recommended databases you can use to find these types of articles.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive database including ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
From business and political science to literature and psychology, Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of the most utilized subjects and topics. The database includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines. This combination of general reference volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provided by Penn State's libraries, The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Because JSTOR is an archive, the past 1 to 5 years worth of issues of current titles may not be available. Subjects covered include: ethnic studies, arts, business and economics, history, humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and the social sciences.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across many disciplines and sources: scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by experts in that field
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contains bibliography/reference list of other sources used

For a more extensive list of characteristics, see the following guide:

Periodicals Research Guide

Work from Anywhere!

The Madigan Library's databases can be accessed from wherever you are, 24 hours a day/7 days a week.

Once you click on a link to a database, you need to login with your network ID & password - the same you use to login to any campus computer.

Do we own it?

Journal Locator
Search for the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper in which your article appears.

We don't own it...but we can get it for you!

Interlibrary Loan
Use interlibrary loan to request articles that we don't have. This service is free of charge for students.