Objectives:
Engineering Pittsburgh
by
Western Pennsylvania's infrastructure is renowned for traversing valleys, mountains, rivers and everything in between. Early surveying in the region delineated state and local boundaries that allowed for the mapping of canals, railroads and roadways. Engineers developed bridges, ground transportation systems and airports that linked Pittsburgh to the world. Frequently overflowing rivers transformed into reliable navigation passageways. Drinking water and wastewater treatment systems allowed development and population to flourish, leading to investments in iconic buildings. Join expert civil engineers and professionals as they narrate the story of Pittsburgh and the surrounding region's engineering triumphs.
Failure Case Studies in Civil Engineering
by
Failure Case Studies in Civil Engineering: Structures, Foundations, and the Geoenvironment, Second Edition, provides short descriptions of 50 real-world examples of constructed works that did not perform as intended. Designed for classroom use, each case study contains a brief summary, lessons learned, and references to key sources. This new edition, which replaces the 1995 classic edited by Robin Shepherd and J. David Frost, offers expanded descriptions, additional photographs and diagrams, and updated references. It also includes new case studies, such as the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building, the Charles de Gaulle Airport Terminal, and the North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Water Treatment Plant. Topics include: foundation failures; embankment, dam, and slope failures; geoenvironmental failures; bridge failures; and building failures. This book supplies valuable resource material on typical failures that can be integrated into undergraduate engineering courses. Engineering professors and their students will use this book as the basis for class discussions, a starting point for further research, and a demonstration of how each failure leads to improved engineering design and safety.
Green Infrastructure and Climate Change Adaptation: Function, Implementation and Governance
by
his open access book introduces the function, implementation and governance of green infrastructure in Japan and other countries where lands are geologically fragile and climatologically susceptible to climate change. It proposes green infrastructure as an adaptation strategy for climate change and biodiversity conservation. In the face of climate change, dams, levees and floodways built as disaster prevention facilities do not sufficiently function against extraordinary events such as mega-floods and tsunami disasters. To prevent those disasters and loss of biodiversity in various ecosystems, we should shift from conventional hard measures to more adaptive strategies using various functions that natural and semi-natural ecosystems provide. Green infrastructure is an interconnected network of waterways, wetlands, woodlands, wildlife habitats and other natural areas that support native species, maintain natural ecological processes, sustain air and water resources and contribute to the health and quality of life for communities and people. Green infrastructure has mainly been discussed from adaptation strategy perspectives in cities and urban areas. However, to protect cities, which are generally situated at downstream lower elevations, we explore the preservation and restoration of forests at headwater basins and wetlands along rivers from a catchment perspective. In addition, the quantitative examination of flood risk, biodiversity, and social-economic benefits described in this book brings new perspectives to the discussion. The aim of this book is to accelerate the transformative changes from gray-based adaptation strategies to green- or hybrid-based strategies to adapt to climate change. The book provides essential information on the structure, function, and maintenance of green infrastructure for scientists, university students, government officers, and practitioners.
Green Infrastructure Implementation
by
Green Infrastructure Implementation provides actionable information that promotes the implementation of green infrastructure. Unlike most publications, which focus on technical design of individual green elements, this book tackles topics that relate directly to the ability to implement green infrastructure. The collection of programmatic and planning topics is unique in current literature, and covers a range of issues from stormwater to public education. Green Infrastructure Implementation identifies obstacles and provides guidance in possible approaches to overcoming them at the programmatic level. It also provides clear and actionable suggestions as to the selection and planning of green infrastructure at different scales and identifies considerations for implementation based on type of practice and specific geographic considerations. Each topic details an assessment of barriers and potential challenges and includes case studies that show how they can be addressed.
Handbook of Materials Failure Analysis with Case Studies from the Chemicals, Concrete and Power Industries
by
Handbook of Materials Failure Analysis: With Case Studies from the Chemicals, Concrete and Power Industries provides an in-depth examination of materials failure in specific situations, a vital component in both developing and engineering new solutions. This handbook covers analysis of materials failure in the chemical, power, and structures arenas, where the failure of a single component can result in devastating consequences and costs. Material defects, mechanical failure as a result of improper design, corrosion, surface fracture, and other failure mechanisms are described in the context of real world case studies involving steam generators, boiler tubes, gas turbine blades, welded structures, chemical conversion reactors and more. This book is an indispensable reference for engineers and scientists studying the mechanisms of failure in these fields.
Handbook of Materials Failure: Analysis with Case Studies from the Construction Industries
by
Handbook of Materials Failure Analysis: With Case Studies from the Construction Industry provides a thorough understanding of the reasons materials fail in certain situations, covering important scenarios including material defects, mechanical failure due to various causes, and improper material selection and/or corrosive environment. The book begins with a general overview of materials failure analysis and its importance, and then logically proceeds from a discussion of the failure analysis process, types of failure analysis, and specific tools and techniques, to chapters on analysis of materials failure from various causes. Failure can occur for several reasons, including: materials defects-related failure, materials design-related failure, or corrosion-related failures. The suitability of the materials to work in a definite environment is an important issue. The results of these failures can be catastrophic in the worst case scenarios, causing loss of life. This important reference covers the most common types of materials failure, and provides possible solutions.
Measures of Sustainable Construction Projects Performance
by
The construction industry contributes to growth and economic development in countries around the world, but it can also be wasteful and environmentally damaging. Traditionally, the success of construction projects is measured in term of time, cost, and quality; however, due to changing clients' demands and expectations and complexity of projects, project goals are no longer limited to the conventional three indicators. The introduction of sustainability principle in every sector of the economy, especially through the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UNSDGs), has also affected the measures of project success. There is the need for construction projects to adopt sustainable principles such as reduce, reuse, and recycle with a view to ensuring that projects are economical, people oriented, environmentally friendly and technically appropriate. Oke builds on years of knowledge and research providing a comprehensive discussion on various metrics and variables for measuring the success and performance of sustainable construction projects; culminating in an essential text for various stakeholders concerned with the management and administration of construction and infrastructure projects in the Architecture, Engineering, Construction and Operation (AECO) industry.
Infrastructure Management, Assessment, and Rehabilitation
by
This volume brings together state-of-the-art research on the development of infrastructure management, assessment, and rehabilitation techniques. It sheds light on pioneering work on innovative 3D-printed concrete, novel methods for assessment of bridge decks, and advanced computer vision-based maintenance of civil infrastructure. The book is essential reading for infrastructure owners, engineers, and contractors, allowing them to gain insights into groundbreaking research that is paving the way toward sustainable and resilient infrastructure.
