Children & Youth: Home

Addresses compelling issues related to individuals with behavioral challenges. Regular features include research-based articles, which discuss evidence-based practices for use with challenging behaviors.

Addresses compelling issues related to individuals with behavioral challenges. Regular features include practitioner-friendly articles, which discuss evidence-based practices for use with challenging behaviors.

The Brown University Child and Adolescent Behavior Letter offers insightful coverage of the practical applications of academic research, professional commentary and hands-on techniques for working with troubled children and adolescents. Main features include: feature articles written by top experts; a what's new in research section; monthly commentary from editor and other experts; the latest news and developments in child behavior; and a parent handout with every issue.

Principal aim is to foster evidence-based clinical practice and clinically orientated research among clinicians and health services researchers working with children and adolescents, parents, and their families in relation to or with a particular interest in mental health.

Child & Family Social Work provides a forum where researchers, practitioners, policy-makers and managers in the field exchange knowledge, increase understanding and develop notions of good practice. In its promotion of research and practice, which is both disciplined and articulate, the Journal is dedicated to advancing the wellbeing and welfare of children and their families throughout the world. Child & Family Social Work publishes original and distinguished contributions on matters of research, theory, policy and practice in the field of social work with children and their families. The Journal gives international definition to the discipline and practice of child and family social work.

Child: care, health and development is an international, peer-reviewed journal which publishes papers dealing with all aspects of the health and development of children and young people. We aim to attract quantitative and qualitative research papers relevant to people from all disciplines working in child health. We welcome studies which examine the effects of social and environmental factors on health and development as well as those dealing with clinical issues, the organization of services and health policy. We particularly encourage the submission of studies related to those who are disadvantaged by physical, developmental, emotional and social problems. The journal also aims to collate important research findings and to provide a forum for discussion of global child health issues.

Publishes articles on children’s services, covering social work, social care, health care, psychology, family law and youth justice.

Provides the latest research, not only for researchers and theoreticians, but also for child psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, psychiatric social workers, specialists in early childhood education, educational psychologists, special education teachers, and other researchers.

Emphasizes brief, well synthesized reviews of research, typically focusing on emerging lines of inquiry in developmental science.

Interdisciplinary journal covering issues related to clinical disorders in children, adolescents, and families.

Links the latest findings in child welfare and related research with the best practice, policy, and program development into one innovative resource equally indispensable to child welfare and associated professionals.

Childhood is a major international peer reviewed journal and a forum for research relating to children in global society that spans divisions between geographical regions, disciplines, and social and cultural contexts. Childhood publishes theoretical and empirical articles, reviews and scholarly comments on children's social relations and culture, with an emphasis on their rights and generational position in society.

Children & Society embraces academic research, policy and practice in relation to the health, education and welfare of children from infancy through to adulthood. The journal informs all those who work with and for children, young people and their families by publishing innovative contributions on research and practice across a broad spectrum of topics, including: theories of childhood; children's everyday lives at home, school and in the community; children's culture, rights and participation; children's health and well-being; child protection, early intervention and prevention.

Publishes works on research, planning, education and care of infants and young children, including multidisciplinary works on early child development and care.

For over twenty years, Early Childhood Research Quarterly (ECRQ) has influenced the field of early childhood education and development through the publication of empirical research that meets the highest standards of scholarly and practical significance. ECRQ publishes predominantly empirical research (quantitative or qualitative methods) on issues of interest to early childhood development, theory, and educational practice (Birth through 8 years of age). The journal also occasionally publishes practitioner and/or policy perspectives, book reviews, and significant reviews of research. As an applied journal, we are interested in work that has social, policy, and educational relevance and implications and work that strengthens links between research and practice.

Infant and Child Development publishes high quality empirical, theoretical and methodological papers addressing psychological development from the antenatal period through to adolescence. Papers published by the journal cover laboratory and experimental studies, observational methods, correlational and longitudinal designs, and work with clinical samples, as well as theoretical reviews and analyses. The wide-ranging scope of the journal provides valuable opportunities to investigate topics such as infant-caregiver relationships, theory of mind, and executive functions from multiple perspectives including consideration of both biological and social-contextual factors.

Infant Behavior & Development publishes empirical (fundamental and clinical), theoretical, methodological and review papers. Brief reports dealing with behavioral development during infancy (up to 3 years) will also be considered. Papers of an inter- and multidisciplinary nature, for example neuroscience, non-linear dynamics and modelling approaches, are particularly encouraged. Areas covered by the journal include cognitive development, emotional development, perception, perception-action coupling, motor development and socialisation.

Publishes peer-reviewed research articles, literature reviews, program descriptions/evaluations, clinical studies, and book reviews that focus on infant social-emotional development, caregiver-infant interactions, contextual and cultural influences on infant and family development, and all conditions that place infants and/or their families at risk for less than optimal development.

Addresses issues of professional and academic importance concerning development between puberty and the attainment of adult status within society.

Journal of Adolescent Research (JAR), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, is the must-read publication for all academics, practitioners, policy-makers, and journalists interested in a global perspective on adolescence (ages 10-18) and emerging adulthood (ages 18-25). It publishes articles that combine both quantitative and qualitative methods, use a systematic qualitative or ethnographic approach, break new theoretical ground, or use a new methodological approach.

Publishes the highest quality clinically relevant research in psychology, psychiatry and related disciplines. Coverage includes studies on epidemiology, diagnosis, psychotherapeutic and psychopharmacological treatments, behaviour, cognition, neuroscience, neurobiology and genetic aspects of childhood disorders.

Publishes research in psychoanalytic child and adolescent psychotherapy for researchers and mental health practitioners.

For over 30 years, The Journal of Early Adolescence (JEA), published bi-monthly, has provided demanding researchers and practitioners in criminology, developmental psychology, education, human development and family studies, psychology, psychiatry, public health, and sociology with the latest work concerning original theories, empirical research, literature reviews, and science-based practices regarding the early adolescent developmental period (10 through 14 years of age).

The Journal of Early Childhood Research is a peer reviewed journal that provides an international forum childhood research, bridging cross-disciplinary areas and applying theory and research within the professional community. This reflects the world-wide growth in theoretical and empirical research on learning and development in early childhood and the impact of this on provision. The journal has particular relevance to policymakers and practitioners working in fields related to early childhood.

Publishes on infant, child, and adolescent psychotherapy from a psychoanalytic developmental perspective, including psychodynamic psychotherapy.

Publishes innovative and rigorous research that advances understanding of adolescent development.

Journal of Youth and Adolescence provides a single, high-level medium of communication for psychologists, psychiatrists, biologists, criminologists, educators, and professionals in many other allied disciplines who address the subject of youth and adolescence. The journal publishes papers based on experimental evidence and data, theoretical papers, and comprehensive review articles. The journal especially welcomes empirically rigorous papers that take policy implications seriously. Research need not have been designed to address policy needs, but manuscripts must address implications for the manner society formally (e.g., through laws, policies or regulations) or informally (e.g., through parents, peers, and social institutions) responds to the period of youth and adolescence.

Research on the experiences and socio-economic contexts of young people, youth education and labour, policy and practice, and politics and narratives of youth.

Focuses on issues of interest to the field of juvenile and family law and justice, including child abuse and neglect, juvenile delinquency, domestic violence, substance abuse, child custody and visitation, judicial leadership, and related topics.

The mission of New Directions for Child and Adolescent Development is to provide scientific and scholarly presentations on cutting edge issues and concepts in the field of child and adolescent development. Each volume focuses on a specific new direction or research topic, and is edited by an expert or experts on that topic.

Publishes research that aims to improve services for vulnerable children and youth in child welfare, mental health and juvenile justice systems.

Social Development is a major international journal dealing with all aspects of children's social development as seen from a psychological stance. It provides an outlet for empirical reports, debates and comments on theoretical and empirical issues, literature reviews and in-depth book reviews.

Research on mental health, social support, illness, HIV/AIDS, abuse, neglect, poverty, and orphanhood concerning vulnerable children and youth at risk.

Young Exceptional Children (YEC) is written for teachers, early care and education personnel, educational administrators, therapists, families and others who work with or on behalf of children from birth through 8 years of age who have identified disabilities, developmental delays, are gifted/talented, or are at risk for future developmental problems. It offers useful, friendly articles that help readers implement research-based strategies and interventions across many settings.