This guide contains links to databases containing articles, scholarly online resources, and information about print and electronic materials in the Madigan Library that can be helpful to your research.
It may be helpful to read current news on eating disorders to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research. The following is a list of journals that you can browse online. If you find an article you wish to read, enter the journal title in Journal Locator to see if we have access to it.
Childhood Obesity is the only journal that provides a central forum for exploring effective, actionable strategies for weight management and obesity prevention in children and adolescents. Health disparities and cultural sensitivities are addressed, and plans and protocols are recommended to effect change at the family, school, and community level. The Journal also reports on the problem of access to effective healthcare and delivers evidence-based solutions to overcome these barriers. Childhood Obesity coverage includes: Genetic, behavioral, and environmental factors causing obesity in children and adolescents; prevention and management initiatives and interventions; strategies to promote education and policy changes; the role of primary care healthcare providers; long-term health risks for overweight children; health disparities and lack of access to health care; economic impact of childhood obesity; and research advances.
Diabetes, Metabolic Syndrome and Obesity: Targets and Therapy is an international, peer-reviewed, open access, online journal. The journal is committed to the rapid publication of the latest laboratory and clinical findings in the fields of diabetes, metabolic syndrome and obesity research. Original research, review, case reports, hypothesis formation, expert opinion and commentaries are all considered for publication.
Eating Disorders is contemporary and wide ranging, and takes a fundamentally practical, humanistic, compassionate view of clients and their presenting problems. You'l find a multidisciplinary perspective that considers the essential cultural, social, familial, and personal elements that not only foster eating-related problems, but also furnish clues that facilitate the most effective possible therapies and treatment approaches.
Egyptian Journal of Obesity, Diabetes and Endocrinology, a publication of Egyptian Society of Obesity, Diabetes and Endocrinology, is a peer-reviewed online journal with 3 Issues print on demand compilation of issues published. The journal’s full text is available online at http://www.ejode.eg.net. The journal allows free access (Open Access) to its contents and permits authors to self-archive final accepted version of the articles on any OAI-compliant institutional / subject-based repository.
European Eating Disorders Review publishes authoritative and accessible articles, from all over the world, which review or report original research that has implications for the treatment and care of people with eating disorders, and articles which report innovations and experience in the clinical management of eating disorders. The journal focuses on implications for best practice in diagnosis and treatment, (rather than on research methodology). The journal also provides a forum for discussion of the causes and prevention of eating disorders, and related health policy.
The Journal publishes basic research, clinical, and theoretical articles of scholarly substance on a variety of aspects of anorexia nervosa, bulimia, obesity and other atypical patterns of eating behavior and body weight regulation in clinical and normal populations. Full-length articles, reviews, brief reports, case reports, research and clinical forums addressing psychological, biological, psychodynamic, socio-cultural, epidemiological, or therapeutic correlates of these clinical phenomena are welcome. Manuscripts submitted should represent a significant addition to our knowledge, or a significant review and synthesis of existing literature.
Multi-disciplinary forum for research describing: basic clinical and applied studies in biochemistry, physiology, genetics and nutrition, molecular, metabolic, psychological and epidemiological aspects of obesity and related disorders.
'Obesity Facts' publishes articles covering all aspects of obesity, in particular epidemiology, etiology and pathogenesis, treatment, and the prevention of adiposity. As obesity is related to many disease processes, the journal is also dedicated to all topics pertaining to comorbidity and covers psychological and sociocultural aspects as well as influences of nutrition and exercise on body weight. The editors carefully select papers to present only the most recent findings in clinical practice and research. All professionals concerned with obesity issues will find this journal a most valuable update to keep them abreast of the latest scientific developments.
Obesity Surgery is the official journal of the International Federation for the Surgery of Obesity and metabolic disorders (IFSO). A journal for bariatric/metabolic surgeons, Obesity Surgery provides an international, interdisciplinary forum for communicating the latest research, surgical and laparoscopic techniques, for treatment of massive obesity and metabolic disorders. Topics covered include original research, clinical reports, current status, guidelines, historical notes, invited commentaries, letters to the editor, medicolegal issues, meeting abstracts, modern surgery/technical innovations, new concepts, reviews, scholarly presentations and opinions.
Pediatric Obesity is a peer-reviewed, bi-monthly journal devoted to research into obesity during childhood and adolescence. The topic is currently at the centre of intense interest in the scientific community, and is of increasing concern to health policy-makers and the public at large.
Pediatric Obesity has established itself as the leading journal for high quality papers in this field.