Research Guides: EET494 Senior Project Design: Find Resources

Search Everything in the Catalog

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

Our List of Databases

List of Databases
A-Z list of the library's databases. Filter the list by subject as well as by database type (articles, books, standards, etc.)

Online Statistical Resources

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Career Outlook
Career Outlook articles provide data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring information on hundreds of occupations.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Occupational Outlook Handbook A-Z Job Index
Browse within this Occupational Outlook Handbook's A-Z Index to find information on thousands of different jobs
Data.gov
Use this site to find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Pennsylvania State Data Center
The Commonwealth’s official source for demographic and economic data.
Population Reference Bureau
A private, nonprofit organization specializing in collecting and supplying statistics necessary for research and/or academic purposes focused on the environment, and health and structure of populations.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
U.S. Census Bureau
Provides statistical resources for people and households, business and industry, and geography. Included are links to state and county QuickFacts and Statistical Abstract of the United States.
U.S. Census Bureau NAICS Search
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Project Management Resources

Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide) and the Standard for Project Management by Project Management Institute
ISBN: 9781628256642
Publication Date: 2021-08-01
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®) Guide is the go-to resource for project management practitioners. Reflecting this evolution, The Standard for Project Management enumerates 12 principles of project management and the PMBOK® Guide - Seventh Edition is structured around eight project performance domains. Both the standard and the guide reflect the wide range of development approaches that lead to value delivery. This edition is designed to address practitioners' current and future needs and to help them be more proactive, innovative and nimble in enabling desired project outcomes. This edition of the PMBOK® Guide reflects the full range of development approaches (predictive, adaptive, hybrid, etc.); provides an entire section devoted to tailoring the development approach and processes; includes an expanded list of models, methods, and artifacts; focuses on not just delivering project outputs but also enabling outcomes; and integrates with PMI standards for information and standards application content based on project type, development approach, and industry sector.
The Standard for Program Management - Fifth Edition by Project Management Institute PMI
ISBN: 9781628258141
Publication Date: 2024-04-01
Programs are critical to organizations looking to optimize benefits and achieve strategic objectives. From initiation to benefits realization, program managers and teams unite the efforts of related projects to create more benefits than the sum of their component parts, adding value through the principles of program management. The Standard for Program Management-Fifth Edition is the definitive standard for individuals and organizations seeking to enhance their program management practices. This edition identifies the eight principles that guide behavior within program management practices and trends, establishing the publication as a principle-led standard. A new program management performance domain- Collaboration-is introduced and incorporated with reorganized content for a streamlined approach to reading, understanding, and using the standard. The Project Management Institute (PMI) offers this updated standard as a powerful tool for a broad range of organizations, regardless of their project delivery approach. This edition of The Standard for Program Management is closely aligned to and builds upon the knowledge captured in A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide)- Seventh Edition. It can equip anyone involved in program management with clear, complete, and relevant information to improve their practices. This standard is an invaluable resource for portfolio, program, and project managers, as well as senior managers and stakeholders. This standard, which is aligned with other PMI standards, underwent a rigorous review process and is approved by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).
The Standard for Risk Management in Portfolios, Programs, and Projects by Project Management Institute
ISBN: 9781628255652
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
The Standard for Risk Management in Portfolios, Programs, and Projects is an update and expansion upon PMI's popular reference, The Practice Standard for Project Risk Management. Risk Management addresses the fact that certain events or conditions-whether expected or unforeseeable during the planning process-may occur with impacts on project, program, and portfolio objectives. These impacts can be positive or negative and may cause deviation from the intended objectives. Risk Management processes allow for the consideration of events that may or may not happen by describing them in terms of likelihood of occurrence and possible impact. This standard will: Identify the core principles for risk management Describe the fundamentals of risk management and the environment within which it is carried out Define the risk management life cycle, and Apply risk management principles to the portfolio, program, and project domains within the context of an enterprise risk management approach The standard focuses on the "what" of risk management (i.e., the key considerations for effective risk management). It is primarily written for portfolio, program, and project managers, but is a useful tool for leaders in risk management, business consumers of risk management, and other stakeholders of the portfolio, program, and project management professions.

Find Industry Information

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Worldwide business information including private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Source for international business intelligence to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries, and industries.
ProQuest Business This link opens in a new window
Search nine ProQuest business databases at once.
Value Line Library Elite This link opens in a new window
In-depth financial information, including market and financial data on U.S. companies, mutual funds and other securities, industry sectors, indices and economic variables, plus commentary and insights on companies, industries, markets and the economy.

Find Research Articles

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and trade journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and govt. publications. Subjects include aeronautics and aerospace engineering, applied physics, AI, robotics, astrophysics, computer applications and programming.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of computer topics, including database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the Internet.
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
Publications involving aircraft engineering, automotive engineering, bonding, brazing, welding, bioengineering and biotechnology, biomaterials and biomedical engineering, casting and molding, ceramics, electrochemical properties, and chemical engineering.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window
Latest news on WAP technology, market penetration of new technologies, key players, and more in telecommunications.