Research Guides: Bleil: Cultural Analysis

Search Tips

Add the following keywords or phrases to the search on your cultural artifact:

ProQuest Central Premium
Search the majority of our ProQuest databases at one time. Subjects include the arts, business, health & medicine, history, literature, science & technology, and social sciences.
JSTOR
Digitized back runs of scholarly journals dating back to the 1600s. The past 1-5 years of current titles may not be available. Subjects include arts, business and economics, history, humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and more.
Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

List of Databases
A-Z list of the library's databases. Filter the list by subject as well as by database type (articles, books, standards, etc.)

CQ Researcher Online
Reporting and analysis on key issues in the news. Unbiased coverage on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the economy, and more. Reports written by journalists are footnoted and fact-checked. Current year plus 10 year rolling backfile.

The Conversation
Publishes trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by a team of journalists.

WorldCat
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

Find Data and Statistics
It may be helpful to include data and statistics in your cultural analysis. Use this guide to search databases and browse credible websites by subject that contain this type of information.

Gale eBooks
Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

Encyclopedia of American Studies
Published by Johns Hopkins University Press for the American Studies Association (ASA), the Encyclopedia of American Studies covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present, from various perspectives and the global American Studies movement.