Research Guides: Morris: Biographies

What is a biography?

A biography is a detailed description or account of someone's life and the times, which is told by a different author. A biography is more than a list of impersonal facts (education, work, relationships, and death); it also portrays the subject's experience of those events.

Online Biographies

Biography.com
From A & E; search by full name, last name, or browse first letters. Contains over 25,000 names.

Print Biography Resources

Almanac of Famous People, 10th ed. by Gale/Cengage Learning
Call Number: REF CT104 .A46 2011 v.1-2
Publication Date: 2011
Information on more than 40,000 famous individuals and groups from Biblical times to the present.
Current Biography & Current Biography Yearbook by H.W. Wilson Company
Call Number: REF CT100 .C8
Publication Date: 1940-present
Biographies of the men and women who make today’s headlines and tomorrow’s history. Annual volume includes the year’s obituaries, a cumulated index of articles and obituaries published in the current decade, and a classification of the subjects of articles by their professions.

Electronic Databases

Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexed resources on where to find biographical material on people from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Includes biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.