Research Guides: Health Care Policy: Data &amp; Statistics

Datasets

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Datasets
View datasets by topic.
Eurostat: Health
Includes data on health status and health determinants, health care, disability, causes of death, and health and safety at work.
Health Policy and Services Research
Read significant, specially-selected health services research grey literature content from the National Library of Medicine's Digital Collections.
National Information Center on Health Services Research & Health Care Technology
Includes a search interface to find PubMed citations relating to health care quality or to health care costs, e.g., appropriateness, process assessment, outcomes assessment, costs, economics, qualitative research, and quality improvement.

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
The Nation's most comprehensive source of hospital care data, including information on in-patient stays, ambulatory surgery and services visits, and emergency department encounters.
Health Insurance
The Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys that target national and state level geographies; the nation, all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, every congressional district and all counties, places and metropolitan areas with populations of 65,000 or more; and longitudinal health insurance data at the national level of geography.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage. It is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States.
Pennsylvania Health Care Cost Containment Council
Independent state agency responsible for addressing the problem of escalating health costs, ensuring the quality of health care, and increasing access for all citizens regardless of ability to pay.

Hospital Statistics by State
Statistics for non-federal, short-term, acute care hospitals are summarized by state. Data are based on each hospital's most recent Medicare cost report. Click on a state to see individual hospital statistics.
SHADAC: State Health Access Data Assistance Center
Multidisciplinary health policy research center with a focus on state policy.
State Health Facts
Provides health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States. In some cases, data are available for counties, territories, and other geographies.

CDC WONDER
CDC Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research (CDC WONDER) manages nearly 20 collections of public-use data for U.S. births, deaths, cancer diagnoses, tuberculosis cases, vaccinations, environmental exposures, and population estimates, among many other topics.
FastStats
Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance.
Health, United States
Presents an annual overview of national trends in health statistics.
Healthy People 2030
Sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade.
HRSA Data Warehouse
Serves as the enterprise repository for Health Resources and Services Administration’s data and makes that data available to the public.
National Center for Health Statistics
Provides US public health statistics including diseases, pregnancies, births, aging, and mortality.
U.S. Census Health Statistics
By states, metropolitan areas, and counties.

Mirror, Mirror 2024: A Portrait of the Failing U.S. Health System by David Blumenthal, Evan D. Gumas, Arnav Shah, Munira Z. Gunja, Reginald D. Williams II
Publication Date: September 19, 2024

Commonwealth Fund’s eighth report comparing the performance of health systems in selected countries. In this edition, the health systems of 10 countries were compared: Australia, Canada, France, Germany, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Five key domains of health system performance were examined: access to care, care process, administrative efficiency, equity, and health outcomes
United States: Health System Review by Thomas Rice, Pauline Rosenau, Lynn Y. Unruh, and Andrew J. Barnes
Publication Date: 2020

Detailed description of the U.S. health system, and of reform and policy initiatives in progress or under development in the U.S.
Health Expenditures in the U.S. by Statista
Provides information about developments, forecasts, payers, and categories of expenditure.