HTH497 Senior Capstone: Terminology

Includes information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments. Each article includes a discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.

Provides more than 1,230 alphabetically arranged entries covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.

Focuses on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic and pandemic diseases; chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer, and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying, and new substance abuse issues. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures.
Volume 1 | Volume 2

Open Educational Resource (OER) that focuses on breaking down, pronouncing, and learning the meaning of medical terms within the context of anatomy and physiology.

Opens with a general introduction to word parts and the human body as a whole, followed by an overview of diseases and treatments. Each subsequent chapter on the individual body systems begins with an illustrated overview of the system with definitions of key terms relevant to that system.

Contains over 5,000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1,000 diagrams, drawings and color illustrations. Provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organizations.

More than 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care.

An encyclopedic medical dictionary that contains more than 75,000 entries

Designed to help students with no healthcare background achieve deep competence in medical terminology.

Organized by medical specialty so students understand how what they are learning is applied in the real world of healthcare.