Research Guides: NUR493 Research & Theory for the Practicing RN: Nursing Writing Resources

Writing Patient Education Materials

Three General Rules
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Writing in the Field: The Three Kinds of Charting
Flowcharts, careplans, and narratives.
List of Nursing Resources on the Purdue OWL
Offers resources that are designed to help nursing students write different types of texts, such as research papers and group presentations.
Public Health Writing Guide
Provides strategies for improving prose and meeting the specific needs of your readers. Includes detailed suggestions on how to write abstracts, critiques (including book reviews), executive summaries, fact sheets, formal emails, grant proposals, letters to the editor, literature reviews, needs assessments, policy briefs, policy memos, professional communications (resumes, cover letters, curriculum vitae), project plans, project reports, reflections, and research papers.

Item Writing for Nurse Educators by Vicki Moran
Publication Date: 2023

Provides guidance and direction for any nurse educator teaching in the professional environment and must write questions to evaluate learning. It covers the basics of item writing and leveling of items using Bloom's taxonomy to the learner, and provides stem examples and new types of questions expected on the NCLEX for both the registered and practical nurse. Includes case study development and item analysis.
Writing for Nursing and Midwifery Students by Julio Gimenez
Call Number: RT24 .G56 2024

Publication Date: 2024

Provides a step-by-step approach to a whole range of genres specific to these disciplines, going beyond the traditional academic essay to include care critiques, action plans, portfolios and systemic reviews as well as complex argumentative writing and the undergraduate dissertation proposal. It also offers help with texts for professional development such as portfolios and conference abstracts.
Critical Thinking and Writing in Nursing, 6e by Bob Price
Call Number: RT24 .P75 2024

Publication Date: 2024

Written specifically for nursing students, this book offers practical guidance on what it means to think critically as a nurse and how to apply this to study and practice.