Research Guides: Welding & Metal Fabrication: Find Articles

Find Articles Using...

MADCAD: American Welding Society This link opens in a new window
Codes and standards of the American Welding Society. Up to 50 users simultaneously.
American Petroleum Institute (API): Subscription Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Standards, guidelines, and other documents that enhance safety, efficiency, and environmentally responsible practices across the natural gas and oil industry. Donated by API. Users must create an account with their PCT email/password for access. Once logged in, select “Are you a subscribed user?” in the top navigation and enter the key: Wid41239
Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, materials science, computing, telecommunications, transportation, aerospace, climate, and more.

ASM Store
From the American Society of Metals, this site allows you to search for citations to articles in the ASM Handbook, books, conference papers, data sheets, journals, magazines, and phase diagrams.
NTRL
As one of the world's largest repositories of U.S. Government-sponsored research results, the new National Technical Reports Library (NTRL Public Access) offers fast and easy access to more than 3 million titles, with links to over 700,000 corresponding digitized full-text technical reports. Public access does require free registration.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect hosts over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 books—over 15 million peer-reviewed publications (and growing) from Elsevier, their imprints and their society partners.
SpringerLink
Offers free access to search tables of content, abstracts, and alerting services of a variety of journals and books published by Springer.
Wiley Online Library
Access one of the world’s most extensive multidisciplinary collections of online resources, covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by experts in that field
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contains bibliography/reference list of other sources used

For a more extensive list of characteristics, see the following guide:

Periodicals Research Guide

Assembly Magazine by BNP Media
ASSEMBLY covers the processes, technologies and strategies for joining discrete parts into finished products. We publish articles on screwdriving, riveting, adhesive bonding, welding and other methods for assembling parts. We write about robots, conveyors, vision systems and other technologies for automated assembly, as well as workstations, power tools and other equipment for manual production. We don’t run articles on processes for making parts, such as machining, stamping and molding.
Connect by The Welding Institute
TWI's magazine to keep you informed on the latest news and technologies.
Fabricating & Metalworking Magazine by Alliance Communications, Inc.
Fabricating & Metalworking is an industrial trade publication that provides rich technical content and targeted advertising through print, online, audio, video and other multimedia outlets that serve a diverse, BPA-qualified audience of small-to-medium contract fabricators, job shops and higher volume metal manufacturers that compete in markets ranging from aerospace, automotive and medical to energy, construction and mining. We are the only monthly trade publication in the world that serves readers in every issue by combining easy-to-read editorial about industry news and trends with detailed technical information on practical solutions for real-world applications in metal forming, welding, metal cutting, tooling and workholding, measurement and inspection, and safety.
The Fabricator by the Fabricators & Manufacturers Association
Disseminates objective information about modern metal forming and fabricating techniques, machinery, tooling, and management concepts. Feature articles include how-to, case studies, and trends & technologies content.
Laser Focus World by Endeavor Business Media, LLC
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive global coverage of optoelectronic technologies, applications, and markets.
The WELDER by FMA Communications, Inc.
The WELDER, formerly known as Practical Welding Today, is a showcase of the real people who make the products we use and work with every day. This magazine has served the welding community in North America well for more than 20 years.
TPJ—The Tube & Pipe Journal® by FMA Communications, Inc.
TPJ - The Tube & Pipe Journal® became the first magazine dedicated to serving the metal tube and pipe industry in 1990. Today, it remains the only North American publication devoted to this industry and it has become the most trusted source of information for tube and pipe professionals. Subscriptions are free to qualified tube and pipe professionals in North America.
Welding and Gases Today by Gases and Welding Distributors Association
As the official magazine of the Gases and Welding Distributors Association (GAWDA), a non-profit organization, this publication carries authoritative notices and articles in regard to the activities of the Association.
Welding International - Translations from the World's Welding Press by Taylor & Francis
Welding International is a well-established and widely respected journal that provides English translations of complete articles selected from major international welding journals. The articles cover research techniques, equipment and process developments, applications and material.
Welding Journal by American Welding Society
- This link opens in a new window
Each month the WELDING JOURNAL delivers news of the welding and metal fabricating industry. Stay informed on the latest products, trends, technology and events via in-depth articles, full-color photos and illustrations, and timely, cost-saving advice. Also featured are articles and supplements on related activities, such as testing and inspection, maintenance and repair, design, training, personal safety and brazing and soldering.

Welding & Metal Fabrication: Find Articles

Find Articles Using...

Work from Anywhere!

Do we own it?

We don't own it...but we can get it for you!