Chemical Dependence & Addictions: Encyclopedias

Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.

Contains over 600 entries on education, death and dying, family development, parenting, cognitive development, mental health, language and communications, personality, social development and behavior, substance abuse, and research methods and measurement.

Covers the neurobiology of addiction, models of addiction, sociocultural perspectives on drug use, family and community factors, prevention theories and techniques, professional issues, the criminal justice system and substance abuse, and assessment and diagnosis.

A comprehensive encyclopedia on all aspects of the production, consumption, and social impact of alcohol.

Includes everything from curious experimentation with tobacco, alcohol, and marijuana, to life-threatening addictions to hard-core drugs.

Includes 600 entries arranged alphabetically that address all facets of alcoholism ranging from a few sentences to over a page. Includes appendices of data and resources.

Covers the abuse of illegal and legal drugs and how it affects society.

Features entries on symptoms, terms, concepts, individuals, and disorders related to addiction.

Covers signs, symptoms, and causes of addictive behaviors and discusses treatments and therapies.

Draws together information from a variety of sources to list and describe more than 130 addictive drugs, including both natural substances and pharmaceutical products.