Research Guides: Chemical Dependence & Addictions: Find Books and Videos

Madigan Library Catalog

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

Search Inside Books

Using Google Books, you can search inside every page of the books in their database. You can then use the Find in a Library link to find out if we have the book you need in the Madigan Library.

Call Numbers

The Library of Congress classifications for chemical dependence and addictions are HV and R. More specifically, HV and R are broken down as follows:

HV5001-5720.5 Alcoholism. Intemperance. Temperance reform
HV5725-5770 Tobacco habit
HV5800-5840 Drug habits. Drug abuse
RC563-564 Personality disorders Including substance abuse
RM316 Drugs of abuse

Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

Catalogs and Collections

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text of eBooks on a variety of topics.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
The National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. We offer more than 4,000 titles in PDF format. All of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.