Skip to Main Content

Madigan Library: Mobile Apps

Mobile Apps for Library Resources

AccessMedicine

McGraw-Hill's Access medical databases are optimized for mobile use.  If you prefer to use AccessMedicine through an app, you can do so by downloading the app through the App Store or Google Play.  Before you can use the app, you will need to access this resource through a link on the library's website, create a personal account, then use that account information to login using the app on your device.

                                                                                                              


DynaMed

Begin by downloading the DynaMed app. After downloading, there are two ways to authenticate the app.

  1. Sign in with your Personal User Account.
    • Tap Sign In and enter your personal user account credentials. Then tap the Sign In button.
      • This authentication type provides access personalized features including CME/CE/CPD tracking and favorite/recent topics.
      • Don’t have a Personal Account? Create one by accessing DynaMed on the web through your institution and then selecting the Sign In link in the top right-hand corner of the screen.
  2. Log in via your institution's network.
    • Tap Institutional Network and then tap Authenticate to log in to the app if you are connected to your institution's Internal Network or Local Internet via Wi-Fi.
    • Please note, this authentication type must first be enabled by your institution and it does not personalize you for features like CME/CE/CPD and following topics.

Once logged in, the app is authenticated for 3 months, after which you are prompted to re-authenticate.  After you log in, you are prompted to install via one of the following options:

  • Online Only: Use the app only while connected to the internet.
  • Partial Install: Store text and image thumbnails on your device. Full images are available when you are connected to the internet. This option helps you save space on your device.
  • Full Install: Store all DynaMed content on your device. You do not need to be connected to the internet to access content on the app.

Note: It is recommended that you are on a Wi-Fi connection for the initial download of DynaMed content as well as when updates become available.

After choosing an installation option, you can use the app online while the content is downloaded to your device. You are notified when your download is complete, and the app can be used while offline.

                                                                                                              


EBSCO MobileEBSCO Mobile

EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide. This free app ensures that users get the most from searching premium EBSCOhost database content, provided courtesy of your library.

To use EBSCO Mobile:

  • Access one of the databases through a library Web page or research guide
  • Click Sign In
  • Create a personal EBSCOhost account

Once a personal EBSCOhost account is created:

  • Download the app from the App Store
  • Sign in using the username and password you created for your personal account

                                                                                                              


FastcaseFastcase

Caselaw and statutes are available through the free app download.  All other resources must be accessed using the Fastcase links on the library's website.

                                                                                                              


Access My LibraryGale/Cengage

Use the Access My Library® app to access Gale resources.  Once logged in, you can do a search across all of our Gale resources, search by individual database, or browse and search specific reference eBooks.

To use this app:

  • Download the free app from the App Store or Google Play
  • Select Academic as the library type
  • Select Pennsylvania College of Technology from the list of libraries
  • Contact the Reference Desk for the password

                                                                                                              


PA Exam Prep

Prepare for the PANCE® using PA Exam Prep. It features more than 1,400 targeted practice questions formatted similarly to what you’ll see on exam day, individualized skills reports, and customizable features that allow you to focus on the areas you need help with the most. Available on the App Store and Google Play.

Instructions to access the app:

  • Download the app using the links below
  • Login with your existing PA Exam Prep individual/student account credentials
  • Start practicing questions!

                                                                                                              


RADReview

RadReview combines gold-standard content, developed by experts, with online tools, such as adaptive learning, remediation, dashboards, assignment management, and reports. Available on the App Store and Google Play.

Instructions to access the app:

  • Download the app using the links below
  • Login with your existing RADReview individual/student account credentials
  • Start practicing questions!

                                                                                                              


PubMed

PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) is an app for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Journal abstracts, TBLs ("the bottom line" summaries) and full text articles (requires subscription to journals) can be accessed anywhere the Internet is available.  Available on the App Store and Google Play.

                                                                                                              


UpToDate

Register for an UpToDate mobile app for your iOS, Android or Windows device, remote access from your home or office computer, the Current Updates newsletter and free CME credit accrual when researching a clinical question onsite or remotely.

To use the mobile app for UpToDate:

  • Access the database through a library Web page or research guide
  • Click the Log In / Register link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen and fill out the registration form

Once registration is complete:

  • Download the app from the App Store or Google Play
  • Login using the information you entered on the registration form