Skip to main content

Madigan Library: Interlibrary Loan

ILLiad

How To Use Interlibrary Loan

First Time Users - Create Your ILLiad Account

location of create ILLiad account link

To create your account in ILLiad, click on the link to ILLiad, then click on the link as shown above, and follow the directions on the screen.  The first page includes general information, such as username and password, copyright information, and FAQs.  After reviewing this information, click on the button at the bottom to access the new user registration form.

  • Enter all information requested.
  • Required fields are indicated with a red asterisk (*).
  • Be sure to use your PCT username and password.
  • After entering all necessary user information, click the button Submit Information at the bottom of the page to complete your registration.

Changing account information

If you need to change your account information, login to your ILLiad account and click Change User Information on the ILLiad main menu under Tools.  ILLiad change user information link location

Requests can be placed a number of ways.  The most common way is while you are searching our databases for articles and books.

Need an article that is not in one of these databases?  Look for these links first:


EBSCOhost

  • Click on the link that says Full Text through OCLC

EBSCO interlibrary loan example


Gale/Cengage

  • Click on the link that says Check for availability in other Penn College Resources

Gale check for availability in other PCT resources


Google Scholar

  • Click on the link that says Get It @ Madigan Library

Google Get It @ Madigan Library link


ProQuest

  • Click on the link that says Check for full text

ProQuest check for full text link location


Once you've clicked on one of the links as shown above, look for the following:


  • If a link to the full-text is not found in another database, you will see the message information Access full text via journal or collection links below. We were unable to find direct full text links for this item.

unable to find article message

  • Click on the button to Request It from Interlibrary Loan, which will give you the ILLiad login screen

request it from interlibrary loan button location

  • Login to your ILLiad account, and once you are logged in, the article request form should be populated with the information for the article you are requesting.
  • Verify that the information is correct and click Submit Request.

Need to request a book not owned by the Madigan Library?


WorldCat

  • Click on the link that says Request it from Interlibrary Loan

WorldCat interlibrary loan button location

  • Login to your ILLiad account, and once you are logged in, the book request form should be populated with the information for the book you are requesting.
  • Verify that the information is correct and click Submit Request.

You can track all ILL requests you've made in ILLiad using the options from the View menu in the main menu.ILLiad view menu choices

  • Outstanding Requests - Check here for items you requested that have not yet been received.
  • Electronically Received Articles - Most articles can be accessed and downloaded from here.
  • Checked Out Items - Lists all ILL materials currently checked out to you and where you go to request to renew items.
  • Cancelled Requests - Lists all ILL requests that needed to be cancelled (e.g. item was no longer needed, item was unavailable, etc.)
  • History Requests - Lists just ILL requests that have been completed.
  • All Requests - Lists all ILL requests ever submitted by the user, regardless of current status.
  • Notifications - A comprehensive list of every email ILLiad has ever sent you.

Request Statuses & Their Meanings

  • Awaiting Conditional Processing – This status may mean three things. 1) A potential lending library has replied that it may be able to supply if more information can be supplied by the ILL staff (cost, format, citation clarification, etc.). 2) A potential lender cannot supply but is giving the ILL staff some helpful information on how to obtain from another lender. 3) A potential lender has refused to provide the material and is explaining why. In all three cases, the ILL staff will review your request and will attempt other potential lenders if possible.
  • Awaiting Copyright Clearance – This photocopy request has been submitted by the library patron and it is awaiting copyright processing to determine if any copyright fees need to be paid.
  • Awaiting Customer Contact – This requested item has arrived and has been processed by the ILL staff, but the library patron has not yet been informed that the item has arrived.
  • Awaiting Denied Renewal Processing – The lending library has refused the renewal request and the library patron has yet to be notified of this.
  • Awaiting Lender Resend – A lender has sent the finished request to us but we did not receive it. We have notified them, and are waiting for a response.
  • Awaiting Librarian Processing – This status is used when a request might need some extra searching help from the librarian.
  • Awaiting Post Receipt Processing – This requested item has arrived, but has not yet been processed by the ILL staff.
  • Awaiting Recalled Processing – It is currently awaiting recall from the library patron by the borrowing staff and return processing.
  • Awaiting Request Processing – This requested item has been submitted by the library patron and, if necessary, has gone through the copyright clearance process. It is now ready to be searched and requested from potential lenders by ILL staff.
  • Awaiting Rush Processing – If you've indicated that you need your article/loan faster than the default "Not Wanted By" date, we will route your request to this status, letting ILL staff know it needs immediate attention.
  • Awaiting Unfilled Processing – The lending libraries tried thus far have been unable to supply the requested material. The request is awaiting the review of the ILL staff to be sent to other potential lenders.
  • Awaiting User Verification – ILL staff or potential lenders have questions about the request that need the library patron's input, for instance: citation clarification, format usability (microfilm okay?), language (Latin okay?), loan restrictions (in-library use only okay?), etc.
  • Cancelled By ILL Staff – This request has been cancelled by the ILL staff. Contact the ILL staff to discuss the reason for cancellation and what your options, if any, are at this point.
  • Checked Out to Customer – The requested item has arrived and has been processed by the ILL staff. Depending on your patron status, it is now available for pickup at the Main Circulation desk, or has been shipped via USPS to distance education patrons. (If you have a request at this status and you do not have the item in your possession, it likely means that you need to go to the library to pick it up.)
  • Customer Notified via E-Mail – The requested item has arrived, has been processed by the ILL staff, and the library patron has been notified of its availability via an email to his/her PCT e-mail account.
  • Delivered to Web – The requested item has arrived, has been processed by the ILL staff, and has been posted to the requesting library patron's personal ILLiad page, where it may be viewed and/or downloaded electronically via Adobe Acrobat Reader.
  • Item Checked In – The item has been returned to the ILL office by the library patron and the item has been checked in. It is now ready for return processing.
  • Item Returned – The item has been returned to the lender.
  • Request Finished – The entire request process has been completed successfully.
  • Request In Processing – This request is being processed at this moment.
  • Request Sent – This request has been sent to potential lenders/providers and the ILL staff is waiting for the item to be shipped by a lender/provider.

Books, Videos, & Other Physical Items

  • You will get an email notifying you that the ILL item(s) you requested are ready to be picked up at the Main Circulation Desk.
  • These items will be posted as PDF files to your ILLiad account. To access them, login to your ILLiad account and click Electronically Received Articles.

Note:  A PDF is only accessible for 30 days; be sure to download a copy to your preferred digital storage space (e.g., H:\ drive, Google Drive, OneDrive, etc.) so you have access to it after the 30 days have passed.

Some ILL materials are able to be renewed. Keep in mind that renewals are determined by the lending library, and some requests may not be renewable.

To request a renewal:

  • Login to ILLiad and select Checked Out Items from the View menu in the left hand column.
  • Click on the transaction number of the item you would like to renew.
  • Click on Renew Request.  The renewal request will be sent to the lending library who will then provide a new due date if the renewal is approved.
  • If the lending library denies the renewal request, your item will be due back on the original due date.

image not available

Zachary Hanford

INTERLIBRARY LOAN ASSISTANT

LIB, Rm. 104D

570-320-2400, ext. 7914

zah5@pct.edu

Mary Gregory, Interlibrary Loan Assistant Mary Gregory

INTERLIBRARY LOAN ASSISTANT

LIB, Rm. 104C

570-320-2400, ext. 7788

mgregory@pct.edu

Can I get an interlibrary loan?

Interlibrary loans are used to obtain items that are not available at the Madigan Library. Current Penn College students, faculty and staff may request interlibrary loans. PCT alumni and community patrons are not eligible for this service and will be directed to use the public library for this service.


What is the cost for an interlibrary loan?

It costs you nothing to get an interlibrary loan, however patrons will be charged for all items not returned along with any associated lost book fees or late fees.


How long will it take to get my interlibrary loan request?

Please allow two weeks to receive your request. For some items, it may take longer.


Where do I pick up my interlibrary loan?

Journal articles will be delivered electronically. Books, DVDs, and other items shipped must be picked up at the Main Circulation Desk. Users will be notified by email when a requested item has been received or if there are any problems filling a request. Items that are not picked will be returned to the lending library.

Patrons will be required to acknowledge receipt of materials by signing and dating their ILL request form at the time of pick up.

Please return books to the Main Circulation Desk.


How long can I keep my interlibrary loan?

The loan period for books is determined by the lending institution. Usually, the loan period is four weeks. The patron is responsible for returning the borrowed item(s) by the due date to the Main Circulation Desk. Renewal requests can be made by logging into your account on ILLiad. Patrons will be charged for all items not returned along with any associated lost book fees or late fees.

Institutions that loan materials, including Penn College, reserve the right to recall items at any time.


Are there items I can't borrow through interlibrary loan?

Items that typically might not be requested include:

  • Entire volumes or issues of periodicals (only specific articles may be requested)
  • Reference books
  • Textbooks*
  • Old/rare materials, including manuscripts
  • Items less than six (6) months old
  • Requests which may violate copyright limitations
  • Computer software

*ILL is not a substitute for required textbook purchases for classes.  Textbook requests will automatically be canceled.


Can I get a dissertation through interlibrary loan?

Often, dissertations are only available at the issuing institution. Not all libraries will loan them. There is no certainty that a request for a dissertation can be filled or that you will receive it in a timely manner. ILL staff can usually determine the lending policy of the institution that holds the dissertation.


What are the policies regarding copyright and interlibrary loan?

The copyright law of the United States (title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.

Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for a purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If an individual uses a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use” that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in it’s judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.

Loading ...