"This is the ultimate guide to the classic automobile, in the defining years from 1945 to 1985 - the period that for many marks the pinnacle of automotive engineering and design style. The history of the development of the car is covered in detail - the milestone models, leading designers, engineers and manufacturers that came together to create so many classic cars. The directory that follows is a visual reference of every important international marque from A to Z, highlighting some of the most significant cars of the century: the Ferrari Daytona, the Lincoln Continental, the Rover 2000, the VW Beetle and the much-loved Mini. Full descriptions, history and technical information on each car is included, making this book the ultimate reference for every car enthusiast and collector.”
The fifth edition of DELMAR'S AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE EXCELLENCE (ASE) TEST PREPARATION MANUAL for the Medium/Heavy Duty Truck T3 Drive Train exam now contains even more content so you can pass your ASE exam the first time. This manual will ensure that you understand the Diesel Engines task list and are fully prepared and confident to take your exam.
"In Age of Auto Electric, Eisler argues that electric vehicle revival was driven not by better batteries but by the interplay between changing environmental and socio-economic conditions, energy and environmental policies, systems of energy conversion and industrial production, and material practices of innovation.”
The fifth edition of DELMAR'S AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE EXCELLENCE (ASE) TEST PREPARATION MANUAL for the Medium/Heavy Duty Truck T3 Drive Train exam now contains even more content so you can pass your ASE exam the first time. This manual will ensure that you understand the Drive Train task list and are fully prepared and confident to take your exam.
Automated vehicles : the safety of controllers, sensors, and actuators addresses the concept of safety for self-driving vehicles through the inclusion of 10 recent and highly relevent SAE technical papers. Topics that these papers feature include risk reduction techniques in semiconductor-based systems, component certification, and safety assessment and audits for vehcicle components. As the fifth title in a series on automated vehicle safety, this contains introductory content by the Editor with 10 SAE technical papers specifically chosen to illuminate the specific safety topic of that book.
The fifth edition of DELMAR'S AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE EXCELLENCE (ASE) TEST PREPARATION MANUAL for the Medium/Heavy Duty Truck T5 Suspension and Steering exam now contains even more content so you can pass your ASE exam the first time. This manual will ensure that you understand the Suspension and Steering task list and are fully prepared and confident to take your exam.
In Autonomous, Connected, Electric and Shared Vehicles: Disrupting the Automotive and Mobility Sectors, Umar Zakir Abdul Hamid provides an overview of ACES technology for cross-disciplinary audiences, including researchers, academics, and automotive professionals. Hamid bridges the gap among the book's varied audiences, exploring the development and deployment of ACES vehicles and the disruptions, challenges, and potential benefits of this new technology.
In this lively and entertaining work, Witold Rybczynski--hailed as "one of the best writers on design working today" by Publishers Weekly--tells the story of the most distinctive cars in history and the artists, engineers, dreamers, and gearheads who created them. Delving into more than 170 years of ingenuity in design, technology, and engineering, he takes us from Carl Benz's three-wheel motorcar in 1855 to the present-day shift to electric cars. Along the way, he looks at the emergence of mass production with Henry Ford's Model T; the Golden Age of American car design and the rise of car culture; postwar European subcompacts typified by the Mini Cooper; and the long tradition of the streamlined and elegant sports car. Rybczynski explores how cars have been reflections of national character (the charming Italian Fiat Cinquecento), icons of a subculture (the VW bus for American hippies), and even emblems of an era (the practical Chrysler minivan). He explains key developments in automotive technology, including the electric starter, rack-and-pinion steering, and disc brakes, bringing to light how the modern automobile is the result of more than a century of trial and error. And he weaves in charming accounts of the many cars he's owned and driven, starting with his first--the iconic Volkswagen Beetle. The Driving Machine is a breezy and fascinating history of design, illustrated with the author's delightful drawings.
This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database including periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
Streaming videos designed for technical and trade education in agriculture, automotive technology, building & technical trades, engineering technology, information technology, technical careers, and technical communication.
Search 16 ProQuest science and technology databases at once.
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.
Call numbers: Using the Library of Congress classification system, look for most materials about the automotive industry on the library's shelves between TL1 and TL499 (2nd floor).
For automotive diagnostic and repair. Available for on-campus student use only. Faculty may contact their librarian for off-campus use.
This link opens in a new windowWide-ranging subjects such as alcohol & drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer & data processing, CAD, electrical technology, forensics, graphic art, health information technology, law enforcement & criminal justice, robotics, and more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to repair, maintenance and service information on popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs. Ford, Chrysler, GM, Honda, Toyota and numerous other makes are represented. Photos, illustrations, and repair procedures help to simplify tasks.
Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
This link opens in a new windowFull-text of eBooks on a variety of topics.
This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.
This link opens in a new windowAccess news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, and Smithsonian. Also includes images, videos, and audio selections.
This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines that aid in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career.
This link opens in a new windowSearch across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.
Digitized back runs of scholarly journals dating back to the 1600s. The past 1-5 years of current titles may not be available. Subjects include arts, business and economics, history, humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and more.
Publications involving aircraft engineering, automotive engineering, bonding, brazing, welding, bioengineering and biotechnology, biomaterials and biomedical engineering, casting and molding, ceramics, electrochemical properties, and chemical engineering.
Market and consumer data and all things statistics. Downloadable data, numbers, and facts in various formats on various topics and industries.
Full-text database which includes aircraft design, automotive design, bridges and tunnels, buildings, towers and tanks; civil engineering for air and space transportation, coastal and offshore structures, construction materials, and construction machinery.
