Research Guides: Aviation and Avionics: Home

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database including periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Associates Programs Source Plus is designed specifically for the research needs of colleges, and covers subjects as wide-ranging as: alcohol & drug abuse counseling, audiology, biotechnology, computer & data processing, CAD, electrical technology, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, law enforcement & criminal justice, robotics, and dozens more. Aviation coverage includes publications like Aviation Consumer, FAA Safety Briefing, and Flying.
Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text of eBooks on a variety of topics.
Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text database which includes aircraft design, automotive design, bridges and tunnels, buildings, towers and tanks; civil engineering for air and space transportation, coastal and offshore structures, construction materials, and construction machinery.
Films On Demand: Technical & Trade This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos designed for technical and trade education in agriculture, automotive technology, building & technical trades, engineering technology, information technology, technical careers, and technical communication.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.
Gale In Context: College This link opens in a new window
Access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, and Smithsonian. Also includes images, videos, and audio selections.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Simplifies browsing through Gale's publications and documents in one platform.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back runs of scholarly journals dating back to the 1600s. The past 1-5 years of current titles may not be available. Subjects include arts, business and economics, history, humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and more.
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
Publications involving aircraft engineering, automotive engineering, bonding, brazing, welding, bioengineering and biotechnology, biomaterials and biomedical engineering, casting and molding, ceramics, electrochemical properties, and chemical engineering.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search the majority of our ProQuest databases at one time with this link. If you use the subject "aviation", you'll find lots of articles from news sources and trade journals.
ProQuest Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Search 16 ProQuest science and technology databases at once.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, materials science, computing, telecommunications, transportation, aerospace, climate, and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Market and consumer data and all things statistics. Downloadable data, numbers, and facts in various formats on various topics and industries.
Veryon This link opens in a new window
Streamlined maintenance workflows for aircraft maintenance facilities and monitoring and research tools for aircraft owners/operators. PCT users must log in with their network username/password for access on and off campus.

Approach : the Naval Safety Center's aviation magazine by Naval Safety Center
Publication Date: 1997-
Aviation history
Publication Date: 1994-
Aviation safety
Publication Date: 1981-
FAA safety briefing by United States. Federal Aviation Administration
Publication Date: 2014-
International journal of aviation, aeronautics, and aerospace by Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Publication Date: 2014-
Journal of aviation technology and engineering
Publication Date: 2011-

Advances in manufacturing for aerospace alloys by Selim Gürgen
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 3031644557
Publication Date: 2024
Advances in Manufacturing for Aerospace Alloys focuses on advanced manufacturing operations and processes related to aerospace alloys. It examines traditional manufacturing methods often insufficient for shaping aerospace alloys and the adoption of nonconventional manufacturing techniques for these materials, such as additive manufacturing, laser welding, electrical discharge machining, and vibration assisted machining. The combination of theoretical aspects with practical applications makes this book a critical reference on state-of-the-art techniques and an instructional resource for practicing researchers and engineers, offering straightforward descriptions of manufacturing processes coupled with industry examples and case studies. Focuses exclusively on manufacturing processes and aerospace materials Covers theoretical aspects and practical applications Includes industry examples and case studies.
FAR/AMT 2025 by Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)/Aviation Supplies & Academics (ASA)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781644253793
Publication Date: 2024-08-01
ASA's FAR-AMT is the most accurate and reliable regulatory reference on the market for aviation maintenance technicians (AMTs), maintenance operations, and repair shops. This 2025 edition of AMT-related Federal Aviation Regulations (FAR) from Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations clearly marks all changes from the previous year. Also contains additional mechanic references such as some of the most often used FAA Advisory Circular publications and FAA Orders. This edition includes: Title 14 Parts 1, 3, 5, 13, 21, 23, 26, 27, 33, 34, 35, 38, 39, 43, 45, 47, 48, 65, 91, 110, 119, 121 (J, L, Z, AA, DD), 125, 135, 145, 147, and 183 Advisory Circulars 20-62E, 20-109B, 21-12C, 39-7D, 43-9C, and 43.9-1G Changes and updates since last edition clearly marked Tabs printed in page margins for quick reference Comprehensive FAR index ASA's FAR/AIM series has been the standard regulatory reference of the industry for more than 80 years. ASA consolidates the FAA regulations and procedures into easy-to-use reference books full of information pertinent to pilots, flight crew, and aviation mechanics.
Air transportation professionals: a practical career guide by Tracy Brown Hamilton.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781538144787
Publication Date: 2022
Air Transportation Professionals: A Practical Career Guide covers the steps you need to take to have a career in this field, and includes interviews with professionals currently working in this field.
Human Reliability, Error, and Human Factors in Engineering Maintenance by B. S. Dhillon
Call Number: TA167 .D468 2009
ISBN: 9781439803837
Publication Date: 2009-04-08
Of the billions of dollars spent on plant management and operation annually, an estimated 80% of the total amount is spent to rectify the chronic failure of systems, machines, and humans. Although information on human reliability, error, and human factors in engineering maintenance is scattered throughout journals and proceedings, no single resource covers all of these topics within a maintenance safety framework. Consulting different and diverse sources can not only make finding information laborious and time consuming, but also cause delays on the job. Human Reliability, Error, and Human Factors in Engineering Maintenance with Reference to Aviation and Power Generation provides engineers a tool for meeting the increasing problem of human error. Drawing on a myriad of sources, the book provides quick and easy access to information that can then be immediately applied to actual problems in the field. It includes examples and their solutions to illustrate engineering safety management at work and gives readers a view of the intensity of developments in the area. The author's clear, concise, user-friendly style breaks the information down into understandable and applicable concepts. This book not only provides up-to-date coverage of the on-going efforts in human reliability, error, and human factors in engineering maintenance, but also covers useful developments in the general areas of human factors, reliability, and error. This information can then be translated into increased maintenance safety that has a positive impact on the bottom line.
Managing Maintenance Error by James Reason; Alan Hobbs
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781351920513
Publication Date: 2017-03-02
Situations and systems are easier to change than the human condition - particularly when people are well-trained and well-motivated, as they usually are in maintenance organisations. This is a down-to-earth practitioner's guide to managing maintenance error, written in Dr. Reason's highly readable style. It deals with human risks generally and the special human performance problems arising in maintenance, as well as providing an engineer's guide for their understanding and the solution. After reviewing the types of error and violation and the conditions that provoke them, the author sets out the broader picture, illustrated by examples of three system failures. Central to the book is a comprehensive review of error management, followed by chapters on:- managing person, the task and the team; - the workplace and the organization; - creating a safe culture; It is then rounded off and brought together, in such a way as to be readily applicable for those who can make it work, to achieve a greater and more consistent level of safety in maintenance activities. The readership will include maintenance engineering staff and safety officers and all those in responsible roles in critical and systems-reliant environments, including transportation, nuclear and conventional power, extractive and other chemical processing and manufacturing industries and medicine.
Risk Management and Error Reduction in Aviation Maintenance by Manoj S. Patankar; James C. Taylor
Call Number: TL671.9 .P38 2004
ISBN: 9780754619413
Publication Date: 2003-12-28
Although several U.S. and European airlines have started providing human factors training to their maintenance personnel, the academic community (some 300 academic programs in the United States and several others in Europe and Asia) has not yet started offering formal human factors education to maintenance students. The highly respected authors strongly believe in incorporating the human factors principles in aviation maintenance. This is the first of two volumes providing effective behavioural guidance on risk management in aviation maintenance for both the novice and the experienced maintenance personnel. Its practical guidelines assist both student and practising aviation maintenance personnel to develop sustainable safety culture. For the maintenance community it provides some theoretical discussion about the "Why?" for risk management and then focus on the 'How?' to implement a successful error reduction program. To help the maintenance community in making a strong case to their financial managers, the authors also discuss the return on investment for risk management programs. The issue of risk management is taken at two levels. First, it provides a basic awareness information to those who have little or no knowledge of maintenance human factors. Second, it provides a set of practical tools for the more experienced people so that they can be more effective in risk management and error recovery in their jobs. This invaluable book serves as a practical guide as well as an academic textbook. The book covers fundamental human factors principles from a risk management perspective. Upon reading this informative book, the audience will be able to apply the basic principles of risk management to aviation maintenance environment, and they will be able to use low-risk behaviours in their daily work.