Research Guides: Baking & Culinary: Find Articles

Find Articles Using...

AtoZ World Food
Includes global food culture and international recipes; culture and ingredient articles, and essential culinary resources.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete™
Scholarly research and industry news in hospitality and tourism. Includes full-text periodicals, company & country reports, and books. Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope.
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts
Articles from major cooking and nutrition magazines, book reference content from About Wine, Introduction to Catering, Advanced Bread and Pastry, and Eat Fit Be Fit.
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism
Scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications on cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. Coverage of historical and current affairs in hospitality and tourism industries.
ProQuest One Business
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
Career & Technical Education Database
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
The New York Times
Access articles, recipes, and restaurant reviews through NYT Cooking. PCT users must log into their NYT account for full-text. Subscription is renewed every 4 years. Student accounts expire Dec. 31 after graduation.

PCT students, faculty, and staff must create their own account by first visiting the NYT Groupass page and search for Pennsylvania College of Technology. Users will create an account or log in with their username/password. Users will be asked to renew their subscription every 4 years. Student accounts expire Dec. 31 after graduation.

List of Databases
A-Z list of the library's databases. Filter the list by subject as well as by database type (articles, books, standards, etc.)

Gale Business: Insights
Source for international business intelligence to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries, and industries.
Mergent Intellect
Worldwide business information including private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.
ProQuest Business
Search nine ProQuest business databases at once.
Statista
Market and consumer data and all things statistics. Downloadable data, numbers, and facts in various formats on various topics and industries.

Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by experts in that field
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contains bibliography/reference list of other sources used

For a more extensive list of characteristics, see the following guide:

Periodicals Research Guide

Art Culinaire by Culinaire, Inc.
Art Culinaire is a quarterly, independently-owned magazine that has been inspiring chefs and food enthusiasts since 1986. Known for its high-quality, hardbound print editions, the magazine features stunning food photography, chef portraits, and meticulously crafted recipes. Each issue captures the culinary landscape through in-depth stories and on-location photography, making it a cherished resource for culinary professionals and enthusiasts alike.
Better Homes and Gardens by Meredith Corp.
Better Homes and Gardens is a lifestyle magazine that offers inspiring ideas for home decor, gardening, recipes, and DIY projects, catering to readers who love creating a cozy and beautiful living space. With practical tips and creative designs, it has become a go-to resource for enhancing everyday life and embracing seasonal trends.
Bon Appétit by Conde Nast Publications
Bon Appétit is a monthly American food and entertaining magazine owned by Condé Nast. Established in 1956, it offers a mix of approachable yet sophisticated recipes, culinary tips, restaurant recommendations, and wine reviews. Known for its vibrant food photography and engaging content, Bon Appétit aims to inspire both home cooks and professional chefs.
Cook's Illustrated by Natural Health Ltd. Partners
Cook's Illustrated Magazine explores the why and how of cooking. Each issue features best-ever recipes, kitchen science discoveries, no-nonsense product reviews, step-by-step photos, reader-submitted quick tips, and not a single ad.
Food & Wine by International Review of Food & Wine Associates
Food & Wine is a renowned magazine that celebrates the global culinary experience. It offers a rich blend of rigorously tested recipes, trusted restaurant reviews, drink recommendations, culinary travel insights, and home cooking tips. Founded in 1978, the magazine aims to be an accessible alternative to more highbrow food publications. It appeals to both men and women, featuring articles from a diverse range of writers. Food & Wine is known for its inclusivity and hospitality, striving to provide a welcoming and informative experience for all readers.
Foodservice & Hospitality by Canadian Restaurant Association
Foodservice & Hospitality is a leading Canadian trade magazine established in 1968. Published eight times a year, it serves as the authoritative voice for Canada’s foodservice and hospitality industry. The magazine provides in-depth coverage of industry trends, business developments, and profiles of key industry figures. It aims to equip operators with the tools and insights needed to run successful businesses.
Gastronomica: the Journal of Critical Food Studies by University of California Press
Gastronomica is an academic and cultural journal that delves into the intersection of food, society, art, and science, offering thought-provoking essays, research, and creative works. It explores the deeper meanings and global implications of food, aiming to inspire critical reflection and conversation.
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Focuses on advancing professional knowledge across the range of research and practice issues such as: nutritional science, medical nutrition therapy, public health nutrition, food science and biotechnology, foodservice systems, leadership and management, and dietetics education.
National Culinary Review by American Culinary Federation
National Culinary Review (NCR) is read by more than 20,000 chefs and culinary professionals who value its insightful articles on food, drink and menu trends, product application, management and lifestyle issues, recipes and professional development. Launched in 1932, NCR is the flagship publication of the American Culinary Federation, publishing six issues a year.
Nutrition and Foodservice Edge by Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals
Nutrition & Foodservice Edge Magazine is a leading publication by the Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals (ANFP). It serves as a valuable resource for over 27,300 nutrition and foodservice professionals. The magazine covers a wide range of topics, including: Medical Nutrition Therapy, Foodservice Equipment, Food Safety, Leadership Practices, Technology, Staff Training.
The magazine also features continuing education articles, making it a crucial tool for professionals looking to stay updated and earn CE credits.
So Good: The Magazine of Haute Patisserie by Grupo Vilbo
So Good: The Magazine of Haute Pâtisserie is a biannual publication aimed at professionals in the world of desserts, sweet and savory pastries, ice cream, and chocolate. Published by Books For Chefs, it showcases the artistry and innovation of top pastry chefs from around the globe. Each issue features: interviews and profiles with pastry chefs, recipes and techniques, trends and innovations, and visual inspiration. The magazine is a celebration of creativity and excellence in the pastry world, making it a must-read for anyone passionate about haute pâtisserie.
WineBusiness Monthly by Wine Business Monthly
The editorial mission of WineBusiness Monthly is to be the essential information resource for wineries and wine grape growers. WineBusiness Monthly has become the leading publication in the industry by keeping readers up-to-date on the latest developments in winemaking, grape growing, marketing, sales, technology and finance, and enabling readers to successfully evaluate and deploy innovative new products.
Wine Enthusiast by Wine News, Inc.
Wine Enthusiast is a prominent magazine dedicated to the world of wine, spirits, and beer. It offers a wealth of information for both enthusiasts and professionals. The magazine covers a variety of topics, including wine reviews and ratings, industry news, wine and food pairing, travel and lifestyle, educational articles. The magazine also highlights influential figures in the wine industry and offers insights into the business side of wine, making it a comprehensive resource for anyone passionate about wine.
Wine Spectator by M Shanken Communications Inc.
A premier magazine dedicated to the world of wine, offering comprehensive coverage for both enthusiasts and professionals, Wine Spectator is the leading source of wine ratings, reviews, news, and videos for wine enthusiasts. Find the latest scores, tastings, buying guides, recipes, and more!

Baking & Culinary: Find Articles

Find Articles Using...

Work from Anywhere!

Do we own it?

We don't own it...but we can get it for you!