Research Guides: Biomedical Sciences &amp; Prehospital Medicine: Drugs & Pharmaceuticals (Rx)

About This Page

This page contains emergency medication references, which are compilations of information on medications used by paramedics and EMTs in the field. They can include mechanism of action and therapeutic effects, pharmacokinetics, calculations, indications and dosages, precautions/contraindications, interactions, adverse effects, and serious reactions. If you are looking for more basic drug information, see the following guide:

Drugs & Pharmaceuticals
by Georgia Laudenslager Last Updated Aug 16, 2024 136 views this year

Databases

Drug Monographs
Look up drugs A-Z, by generic name, by trade name, or by drug classification. Also included are patient handouts. Updated every 2 weeks.

UpToDate Lexidrug for Dentistry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides dental-specific pharmacology and clinical information, including interaction and allergy screening tools, patient medication management, lesion diagnosis and a wide-ranging collection of dental reference databases.

Drug Information
Choose from general drug information, international drug information, patient drug information, pediatric drug information, what's new in drug therapy, and patient education.

Guides & Handbooks

Prehospital Emergency Pharmacology, 8e by Bryan Bledsoe; Dwayne E. Clayden
Call Number: RC86.7 .B597 2019
Publication Date: 2018
Comprehensive reference guide to the most common medications and fluids used in prehospital emergency care.
IV Therapy for EMS by James Drake; Randall W. Benner
Call Number: RM170 .B466 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Covers the full spectrum of IV skills from most basic and introductory to advanced topics that would be used by critical care personnel.
Pharmacology for the EMS Provider, 3e by Richard K. Beck
Call Number: RM300 .B38 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Provides detailed profiles of prehospital medications including mechanism of action, indications, contraindications, precautions, routes and dosages, side effects, and EMS consideration.
Paramedic: Pharmacology Applications by Bob Elling; Kirsten M. Elling; Mikel A. Rothenberg; American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) Staff
Call Number: RM300 .E45 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Comprehensive understanding of the indications, contraindications, and side effects of medications, as well as insight into the pathophysiology and etiology of conditions requiring rapid pharmacologic intervention.
Pharmacology for the Prehospital Professional, 2e by Jeffrey Guy
Call Number: RM300 .G89 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Problem-oriented approaches to real scenarios encountered in the field, with step-by-step procedural descriptions of pharmacologic processes commonly performed in the prehospital setting.