Research Guides: Sociology: Dictionaries

What is a dictionary?

Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.

Online Dictionaries

Glossary of Selected Social Science Computing Terms and Social Science Data Terms
more...less...
This glossary includes terms which you may find useful in managing data collections and providing basic data services. It does not attempt to cover all social science research terms or all computer terms. The definitions used are meant to be helpful in a data library environment.
Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences
more...less...
This dictionary is an electronic (database) version of a 900+ item dictionary authored by by Gary Parkinson, Ph.D. and Robert Drislane, Ph.D. The electronic version is fully searchable (both terms and definition text). Conversion was undertaken by ICAAP for Athabasca University. This dictionary is being offered free of charge to students, instructors, and anyone else interested in learning more about the social sciences.

Print Dictionaries

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Turner, Bryan S.
Call Number: REF HM425 .C36 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Covers a global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists, and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.