Immigration, Immigrants & Refugees: Guides and Handbooks

The Amnesty International Report 2011 documents the state of human rights in 157 countries and territories in 2010. It reveals a world in which people continue to challenge oppression and to confront human rights abusers, despite the powerful array of repressive measures deployed against them. This report shows that the communities most affected by human rights abuses are the real driving force behind the human rights struggle. Their determination and persistence have inspired millions and made it increasingly difficult for states to ignore the growing clamour for fundamental and irreversible change.

Twenty-four essays present opposing viewpoints on issues related to illegal immigration to the U.S., including whether it harms the U.S., whether illegal immigrants are treated fairly, how the borders should be enforced, and how immigration policy should be reformed.

This third edition has been thoroughly expanded and updated to reflect current demographic, economic, and political realities. Drawing on recent census data and other primary sources, the authors have infused the entire text with new information and added a vivid array of new vignettes and illustrations. Recognized for its superb portrayal of immigration and immigrant lives in the United States, this book probes the dynamics of immigrant politics, examining questions of identity and loyalty among newcomers, and explores the psychological consequences of varying modes of migration and acculturation. The authors look at patterns of settlement in urban America, discuss the problems of English-language acquisition and bilingual education, and explain how immigrants incorporate themselves into the American economy. Contains a new chapter on religion and fresh analyses of topics ranging from patterns of incarceration to the mobility of the second generation and the unintended consequences of public policies. This updated edition frames and informs on issues that promise to be even more hotly and urgently contested as the subject moves to the center of national debate.

Presents a history of US immigration in primary source documents, tracing the roots of the debate in the history of our profoundly divided and surprisingly cyclical response to foreign immigration.

This volume explains the steps and procedures necessary for an individual to navigate the U.S. immigration system. The author provides information of the process for obtaining visas, permanent residency or citizenship. Also included are examples of common immigration forms for the individual and for families, as well as a list of the most important websites for immigration issues.

Describes the demographics of migrant workers and probes the attendant economic, political, sociological , and language issues, providing a comprehensive look at education of migrant children, youth, and adults in the United States.

Alger (political science emeritus, Ohio State U.) describes the structure and work of United Nations (UN) operations, goals and structures both in the headquarters in New York City and in the many subsidiary organizations of the specialized agencies and related organizations around the world. The resulting reference includes a background and brief history of the UN, its problems, controversies and solutions based on global values and the need for long-term peace- keeping, an analysis of the ambivalent participation of the US in the UN system, a chronology of the emergence and development of the UN system and its alternate futures, a directory of organizations, associations and agencies, and biographical sketches of present heads of UN system organizations. The section on facts and data includes UN founding documents and material on human rights and peacekeeping activities, counterterrorism, conferences, and system Nobel Peace Prizes. Alger includes selected print and nonprint resources. Annotation ©2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

For libraries serving Russian-speaking populations, this volume tells new arrivals everything they need to know about settling in the U.S., from buying a used car to applying for college. English and Russian versions of the text are on facing pages. -- RBB Copyright 2004 Booklist

Working Americans 1880-2007 Volume VIII: Immigrants illustrates what life was like for families leaving their homeland and creating a new life in the United States. Each chapter covers one decade and introduces the reader to three immigrant families. Family profiles cover what life was like in their homeland, in their community in the United States, their home life, working conditions and so much more.