Immigration, Immigrants & Refugees: Home

FMR presents concise, accessible articles by policymakers, practitioners, researchers and displaced people in order to share information, experience and recommendations on issues affecting refugees, internally displaced people and stateless people. Each issue has a feature theme plus a range of general articles.

Published quarterly by ABA Publishing, Human Rights covers a wide range of topics in the human and civil rights arena.

Provides current information on important developments within the United Nations and regional human rights organizations, both governmental and non-governmental. Presents current work in human rights research and policy analysis, reviews of related books, and philosophical essays probing the fundamental nature of human rights as defined by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Immigrants & Minorities, founded in 1981, provides a major outlet for research into the history of immigration and related studies. It seeks to deal with the complex themes involved in the construction of 'race' and with the broad sweep of ethnic and minority relations within a historical setting. Its coverage is international and recent issues have dealt with studies on the U.S.A., Australia, the Middle East and the UK. The journal also supports an extensive review section.

International Migration is a refereed, policy oriented journal on migration issues as analysed by demographers, economists, sociologists, political scientists and other social scientists from all parts of the world. It covers the entire field of policy relevance in international migration, giving attention not only to a breadth of topics reflective of policy concerns, but also attention to coverage of all regions of the world and to comparative policy.

International Migration Review is an interdisciplinary journal created to encourage and facilitate the study of all aspects of sociodemographic, historical, economic, political, legislative and pastoral aspects of human mobility. It is internationally regarded as the principal journal in the field facilitating study of human migration, ethnic group relations, and refugee movements. Through an interdisciplinary approach and from an international perspective, IMR provides the single most comprehensive forum devoted exclusively to the analysis and review of international population movements.

The journal is an essential tool for academics, policymakers and practitioners concerned with the protection of refugees and other forced migrants. It publishes high-quality articles on issues at the forefront of the law on forced migration, rigorous analysis of refugee law jurisprudence and State practice, as well as scholarship on the history and evolution of refugee law. It also contains summaries of recent key cases from around the world and important documents relating to international protection.

The Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies (JEMS) publishes the results of first-class research on all forms of migration and its consequences, together with articles on ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism, nationalism, citizenship and policies of integration. Contributions to the journal, which are all fully refereed, are especially welcome when they are the result of comparative research, for example within Europe or between one or more European country and the countries of North America and the Asia-Pacific. The journal tends to focus on advanced industrial countries and has distinguished associate editors from North America and the Asia-Pacific.

Covers all aspects of human rights activism, spanning professional and geographical boundaries.

The Journal of Immigrant & Refugee Studies explores the effects of worldwide migration. The range of opportunities offered across the globe as well as traumas caused by war, revolutions, famine, terrorism, and economic difficulties have seen the movements of thousands of people who have left their homes, migrating either across regions or across borders. Nations are faced with the task of developing policies and programs to accommodate these waves of migration, particularly in the face of the increasing displacement of large groups of people. Countries losing citizens must adapt to the drains on their workforces. On the other hand, movements of people also provide unanticipated opportunities to nations that accept newcomers, many of whom may bring substantial human, social, and financial capital. Migration, then, has benefits and difficulties both for those migrating and for the nations affected. Resources entering countries can enhance and strengthen them; however, xenophobia, cross-cultural conflicts, and adaptation difficulties can be particularly troubling. This journal explores the experiences of migration, its social, economic, and political impact on receiving nations and regions, and the effects of emigration on the home territories. It provides a forum for quality knowledge and research in an area that is expected to continue to grow substantially.

International forum for the publication of peer-reviewed original research pertaining to immigrant health from contributors in many diverse fields including public health, epidemiology, medicine and nursing, anthropology, sociology, population research, immigration law, and ethics.

Provides a forum for exploration of the complex problems of forced migration and national, regional and international responses.

Mobilities examines both the large-scale movements of people, objects, capital, and information across the world, as well as more local processes of daily transportation, movement through public and private spaces, and the travel of material things in everyday life. Recent developments in transportation and communications infrastructures, along with new social and cultural practices of mobility, present new challenges for the coordination and governance of mobilities and for the protection of mobility rights and access. This has elicited many new research methods and theories relevant for understanding the connections between diverse mobilities and immobilities.

Peer-reviewed, academic journal that focuses on the challenges of forced migration from multidisciplinary and policy-oriented perspectives.