Health Social Work: Guides and Handbooks

Organized around the (ICD-9), the 17 chapters of this work explore the contributions of psychology to the management of the 17 groupings of diseases and disorders identified by the ICD-9. In addition to considering the current status of psychological understanding of disease and disorder management, authors were asked to highlight areas of opportunity and examine possibly overlooked areas. Both clinical and research issues are examined. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

This volume addresses the central questions of interest in the field of health psychology. The 51 contributions address the cognitive, behavioral, cognitive-behavioral, physiological, social, environmental, social environmental, personality, and developmental factors underlying health and illness processes. Topics include basic processes and causes; crosscutting issues such as stress, disclosure, chronic illness, burnout, overall context, informal caregiving to older adults, women's health promotion, male partner violence, rehabilitation, fertility problems, physical activity, and citizen participation; and applications to the study of diseases like cancer, hypertension, silent ischemia, and HIV. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

The Handbook of Health Social Work provides a comprehensive and evidence-based overview of contemporary social work practice in health care. Written from a wellness perspective, the chapters cover the spectrum of health social work settings with contributions from a wide range of experts. The resulting resource offers both a foundation for social work practice in health care and a guide for strategy, policy, and program development in proactive and actionable terms.

Presents research on social work with older people. This handbook provides knowledge and resources to equip social workers to care for an aging population.

Provides basic consumer health information about disorders caused by gene and chromosome abnormalities and those with genetic and environmental components, genetic testing, treatment research, and guidance for parents of children with special needs. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.

Offers essays on diseases, biology, techniques, methodologies, genetic engineering, biotechnology, ethics, and social issues. Written for health-care consumers, premedical students, public library patrons, and librarians building scientific collections.

Addresses the biopsychosocial parameters of wellness and dysfunction, stress and coping, and vulnerability and resilience.

Provides an authoritative analysis of the current (and anticipated) developments in the global healthcare industries. Combines information on the latest scientific developments with applied, commercial business data from the global marketplace.

Offers consumer health information about risk factors, symptoms, testing, and treatment of sexually transmitted diseases and related complications, along with facts about prevention strategies. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.