Skip to main content

How to Search Madigan Library Databases: I've found articles. Now what?

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

  • Written by experts in that field
  • Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
  • Articles tend to be longer, anywhere from 5 to 35 pages
  • Contains bibliography/reference list of other sources used

I found an article. Now what?

Now WhatOnce you find an article you want to use for your assignment, you have a few options as to how you can get to the whole article. Many times, more than one of the options is available to you.

  • Full Text or HTML Full Text - this format includes the text of the article, but may have limited graphics. This is the best choice for fast printing and if you don't need any images.

  • PDF or Full Page Image - this is an exact scanned image of the article as it appeared in print. It will include any graphics, charts, and pictures as they were in the original article. This is great if you need the visuals.

  • Find a copy or Check for Full Text in other Penn College Resources - these are citations for articles and maybe a short abstract or summary, but the full text is not available in the database you are in. The links allow you to see if that articles is available full text in another library database.

  • Request this item through ILLiad Interlibrary Loan - We can get the article sent to us from another library, but it will take some time. This service is free of charge to students.

You may generally print, email or save copies of articles or citations.

Do we own it?

Interlibrary Loan