Research Guides: BBT415 Integrated Building Operation & Energy Management: Find Books & Videos

Why use books?

In today's online world, do books still have a part to play? Absolutely!

Books can provide you with reliable information you can count on and include in your works cited/reference page. They often provide:

Background information
In-depth coverage of topic
Chapters that can break a topic down into smaller, more easily understood pieces
Pointers to more information on the same topic

Find Books & Videos Using...

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text of eBooks on a variety of topics.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
The National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. We offer more than 4,000 titles in PDF format. All of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

The Library of Congress classification for energy resources is TJ and TP. More specifically, TJ and TP are broken down as follows:

TJ163.13-163.25 Power resources
TJ163.26-163.5 Energy conservation
TJ808 Renewable energy resources
- TJ809-812 Solar energy
- TJ820-828 Wind power
TP324 Wood
TP325-340 Coal, lignite, charcoal, coke, biomass, peat
TP345 Gas
TP350 Natural gas
TP355 Petroleum, Including synthetic petroleum
TP359 .M4 Methane

The Library of Congress classification for building automation systems is TH and TJ. More specifically, TH and TJ are broken down as follows:

TH6012 Building control systems
TJ163.5 Energy conservation or consumption in special industries, facilities, etc. (buildings, dwellings, factories, hospitals, hotels, office buildings, plants, stores, etc.)

Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

Energy for the 21st Century: A Comprehensive Guide to Conventional and Alternative Sources by Roy L. Nersesian
Call Number: HD9502 .A2 N465 2007
ISBN: 9780765613233
Publication Date: 2006
The new edition of this best-selling handbook on conventional and alternative sources of energy includes new material on biofuels, an expanded section on sustainability and sustainable energy, and updated figures and tables throughout.
Energy Management and Conservation Handbook by Frank Kreith (Editor); D. Yogi Goswami (Editor)
Call Number: TJ163.2 .E4833 2008
ISBN: 9781420044294
Publication Date: 2007
Offers guidance on the planning and design of 'green' technologies. This book focuses on management strategies for better utilization of energy in buildings and industry as well as ways of improving energy efficiency at the end use. It introduces basic methods for designing and sizing cost-effective systems.
Beyond the Age of Oil: The Myths, Realities, and Future of Fossil Fuels and Their Alternatives by Leonardo Maugeri
Call Number: TJ163.2 .M37513 2010
ISBN: 9780313381713
Publication Date: 2010
In this eagerly awaited sequel to his prize-winning bestseller, The Age of Oil, Leonardo Maugeri, the strategy director of one of the world's biggest energy companies, puts forward a hard-headed, concrete plan in simple everyday language for how to shift the world economy's primary energy dependence from fossil fuels to renewable energies by 2035. Assuming no specialized knowledge, the author walks the reader chapter by chapter through each of the fossil fuels (oil, coal, and natural gas) and each of the alternative energy sources (nuclear, hydroelectric, biofuel, wind, solar, geothermal, and hydrogen). Drawing on the unparalleled data and analysis resources at his command, Maugeri assesses the problems and advantages of each energy source in turn in order to constrain the optimal mix of energy sources that the world should be aiming for in 2035. Critically, he lays out the arduous path for getting from here to there. Maugeri shows that the next 25 years will be a rocky marriage between the old and the new energy paradigms, during which we must dramatically improve the efficiency of our continuing use of fossil fuels, while driving ahead on all fronts to an energy future based on a suite of sustainable energy sources.
Energy-Efficient Building Systems by Lal Jayamaha
Call Number: TJ163.5 .B84 J39 2007
ISBN: 9780071482820
Publication Date: 2006
Designed to help reduce energy costs and meet environmental standards, this state-of-the-art productivity tool contains fully illustrated, real-world examples of successful green building projects that have achieved significant, energy-saving results. From energy management and auditing, HVAC systems, cooling towers, and pumping systems... to lighting, electrical systems, automation, and building envelope, this expert resource takes readers step by step through procedures for getting optimal performance from every building system. For each system, the book presents the latest methods for improving efficiency... identifying promising new solutions... evaluating their feasibility... and estimating actual savings.