Research Guides: Medical Genetics: Quick Links

Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information on the diagnosis, treatment, medications, and follow-up of diseases and conditions, as well as related illnesses typically associated with certain diseases and conditions.
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
You will need to have a MyAccess profile to use the files. Click on the link to MyAccess on the main page and follow directions.

GeneReviews
Provides clinically relevant and medically actionable information for inherited conditions in a standardized journal-style format, covering diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling for patients and their families.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care tool designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Medical calculators, drug interactions, and patient education materials are included.

NCBI Gene
Supplies gene-specific connections in the nexus of map, sequence, expression, structure, function, citation, and homology data.

ProQuest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.

A Glossary of Relevant Genetic Terms
Morris-Rosendahl DJ. A glossary of relevant genetic terms. Dialogues Clin Neurosci. 2010;12(1):116-120. doi:10.31887/DCNS.2010.12.1/dmrosendahl
Genetic Terminology
Elston RC, Satagopan JM, Sun S. Genetic terminology. Methods Mol Biol. 2012;850:1-9. doi:10.1007/978-1-61779-555-8_1
Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms
Features more than 250 common genetic terms pronounced and explained in an easy-to-understand way by leading scientists and professionals at the National Human Genome Research Institute.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, 5e by Brigham Narins
Publication Date: 2022
Updated, comprehensive, and authoritative survey of topics covering a wide range of diseases, conditions, therapies, treatments, and other issues related to genetics and health.
Volume 1 | Volume 2 | Volume 3

Genetic Disorders
Browse the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews for this topic.