Research Guides: Engineering & Industrial Design: Find Books & Videos

Why use books?

In today's online world, do books still have a part to play? Absolutely!

Books can provide you with reliable information you can count on and include in your works cited/reference page. They often provide:

Background information
In-depth coverage of topic
Chapters that can break a topic down into smaller, more easily understood pieces
Pointers to more information on the same topic

Find Books & Videos Using...

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of eBooks on a variety of topics.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text eBooks on a variety of topics. Users must create an account to download materials.
eBook Open Access Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to thousands of titles on various topics, without DRM (digital rights management) restrictions.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
The National Academies Press
Publishes more than 200 publications per year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

The Library of Congress classifications for drafting and CAD materials are NA and T. More specifically, NA and T are broken down as follows:

NA2695-2793 Architectural drawing and design
T351-385 Mechanical drawing. Engineering graphics

Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

HD Economic History and Conditions

HD9680-9714 Mechanical industries
HD9715-9717.5 Construction industry
HD9720-9975 Manufacturing industries

T Technology

TA General engineering. Civil engineering
TJ Mechanical engineering