Research Guides: Building Construction: Find Articles

Find Articles Using...

Career & Technical Education Database
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
ProQuest One Sustainability
Focused on sustainability and related disciplines aligned with environmental, social, and economic impact. Subjects cover agriculture, biodiversity, civil engineering, environmental engineering, and more.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies
Offers authoritative content on emerging green technologies and issues on the environment and sustainability. Includes international newspapers, magazines, referred journals, videos, podcasts, images, and searchable case studies.
Associates Programs Source Plus
Wide-ranging subjects such as alcohol & drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer & data processing, CAD, electrical technology, forensics, graphic art, health information technology, law enforcement & criminal justice, robotics, and more.
Engineering Collection
Full-text database which includes aircraft design, automotive design, bridges and tunnels, buildings, towers and tanks; civil engineering for air and space transportation, coastal and offshore structures, construction materials, and construction machinery.
SAGE Journals
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database including periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.

ASCE Library
From the American Society of Civil Engineers, the ASCE Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. It includes journal articles as well as papers from proceedings.
ASM Store
From the American Society of Metals, this site allows you to search for citations to articles in the ASM Handbook, books, conference papers, data sheets, journals, magazines, and phase diagrams.
NTRL
As one of the world's largest repositories of U.S. Government-sponsored research results, the new National Technical Reports Library (NTRL Public Access) offers fast and easy access to more than 3 million titles, with links to over 700,000 corresponding digitized full-text technical reports. Public access does require free registration.

Mergent Intellect
Worldwide business information including private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.
ProQuest One Business
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
Fastcase
A legal research database including the national law library, cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and bar publications. Includes all 50 state courts, statutes, administrative regulations codes & orders, court rules & instructions, and all state constitutions.
Gale Power Search
Simplifies browsing through Gale's publications and documents in one platform.

Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

Periodicals Research Guide

Advances in Building Energy Research by Taylor & Francis
Provides expert reviews and analyses of the most important developments across the fields of energy efficiency and environmental performance of buildings.
Building by Business Information Group
Canada's national newsmagazine for building industry professionals with focus on real estate development and architecture including residential, both single and multi-unit, commercial, industrial, institutional and hospitality.
Building and Environment by Elsevier Ltd.
Building and Environment is an international journal that publishes original research papers and review articles related to building science and human interaction with the built environment. The Journal is focused on new knowledge, rigorously verified with measurement and analysis, related to the environmental performance of buildings in different scales, ranging from cities, communities, buildings, to building systems and assemblies.
Building Design+Construction by SGC Horizon LLC
BD+C is the only magazine published for the building team—architects, engineers, contractors, building owners, and facilities managers involved in design and construction of nonresidential buildings.
Building Research & Information by Routledge
Publishes research on the life cycle of buildings, including inception, designing, engineering, building, disassembly, recovery and sustainable built environments.
Building Services Engineering Research and Technology by SAGE
Building Services Engineering Research & Technology is one of the foremost, international peer reviewed journals that publishes the highest quality original research relevant to today’s Built Environment. Published in conjunction with CIBSE, this impressive journal reports on the latest research providing you with an invaluable guide to recent developments in the field. BSER&T covers the full range of energy and environmental services in buildings, including: heating, ventilation, air conditioning, building, electrical services, building acoustics, water supply and sanitation, and vertical transport.
Building Simulation by Springer
Building Simulation: An International Journal publishes original, high quality, peer-reviewed research papers and review articles dealing with modeling and simulation of buildings including their systems. The goal is to promote the field of building science and technology to such a level that modeling will eventually be used in every aspect of building construction as a routine instead of an exception. Of particular interest are papers that reflect recent developments and applications of modeling tools and their impact on advances of building science and technology. Paper submission is solicited for the following five fixed sections: A: Building thermal, lighting, and acoustics modeling B: Building systems and components C: Indoor/outdoor airflow and air quality D: Architecture and human behavior E: Advances in modeling and simulation tools The above scope will develop as the field of building simulation evolves. Authors are encouraged to contribute papers from different angles of interest, making Building Simulation: An International Journal a dynamic channel and valuable resource for new scientific findings and engineering applications.
Buildings by Stamats Communications, Inc.
Buildings delivers relevant and timely information that equips commercial building owners and facilities management professionals with the knowledge and support they need to solve critical issues; energy management, lowering operating costs, new products for commercial buildings, security, and much more.
Concrete Contractor by Cygnus Business Media
Delivers only the best, most practical and newsworthy material to the concrete contractor. In each issue, readers benefit from information on concrete equipment, current technology, job-site solutions, tips on staying competitive, finance, insurance and a host of other hard-hitting material.
Construction and Building Materials by Elsevier Ltd.
Construction and Building Materials provides an international forum for the dissemination of research and development in the field of construction and building materials and their application in new works and repair practice. The journal publishes a wide range of research and application papers which describe laboratory and numerical investigations or report on full scale projects. Construction and Building Materials also publishes detailed case studies and review articles, as well as short communications and discussions. The materials and technology covered include: cement, concrete reinforcement, bricks and mortars, additives, corrosion technology, ceramics, timber, steel, polymers, glass fibres, recycled materials and by-products, sealants, adhesives. The scope of Construction and Building Materials includes, but is not restricted to, new works and repair and maintenance of the following: bridges, high-rise buildings, dams, civil engineering structures, silos, highway pavements, tunnels, water containment structures, sewers, roofing, housing, coastal defences.
Construction Global by White Digital Media Group
Seeks to inform, engage and interact with construction executives about key trends, technological advances and software innovation, modern construction techniques, operational excellence and more.
Construction Management and Economics by Routledge
Publishes papers on the management and economics of activities in the construction industry, including design, procurement and through-life management.
Construction News by EMAP Publishing Limited
Dedicated to providing essential business information and intelligence to win work and compete effectively in an increasingly complex construction sector. It is widely recognised as the brand trusted by leading contractors to help them shape the future of the industry.
Engineered Systems by BNP Media
Engineered Systems (ES) Magazine provides practical, energy-efficient solutions for mechanical engineering projects. Whether it's a renovation or new construction, ES delivers new ideas to help your commercial, institutional, industrial, and government buildings achieve LEED and Energy Star certification. Written by engineers for engineers.
Engineering, Construction and Architectural Management by Emerald Group Publishing Limited
Publishes papers on research breakthroughs and innovative developments in the design, construction and management of buildings and civil infrastructure projects.
Equipment Today by Cygnus Business Media
Provides the commercial construction industry with information for equipment selection, application, maintenance, and asset management, as well as safety and regulation. Serves contractors in highway and heavy general building demolition, utility, and other construction segments.
Intelligent Buildings International by the Council for Research and Innovation in Building and Construction
Publishes advances in building innovation and design sustainability, smart enabling technologies and the applications of biomimetics and biophilia.
Journal of Building Performance Simulation by the International Building Performance Simulation Association
Publishes international research on building performance simulation including modelling and simulating thermal processes, energy conversion and weather data.
Journal of Building Physics by SAGE
Journal of Building Physics (J. Bldg. Phys) is an international, peer-reviewed journal that publishes a high quality research and state of the art “integrated” papers to promote scientifically thorough advancement of all the areas of non-structural performance of a building and particularly in heat, air, moisture transfer.
Journal of Green Building by College Publishing
Publishes peer-reviewed research for the sustainable built environment at the building, community, neighborhood and urban scale
Journal of Light Construction by Zonda Media
Articles about construction information, including building materials, products, and business management, for home builders and remodelers.
Journal of Sustainable Cement-Based Materials by the Guangxi University
Publishes theoretical and applied researches on materials, products, and structures that incorporate cement.
Lean Construction Journal by Lean Construction Institute
Published by the Lean Construction Institute since 2003, the Lean Construction Journal (LCJ) is an international refereed journal devoted to Lean Construction practice and research.
On-Site: Canada's Construction Magazine by Business Information Group
Magazine devoted to heavy construction. Coverage includes: construction statistics, new equipment, construction law, surety, risk, construction software, concrete technologies and more.
Professional Builder by Housing Zone
Professional Builder magazine provides breaking news, industry trends, product innovations, and best practices for the U.S. home building industry.
Sustainable Construction by Cygnus Business Media
Sustainable Construction magazine delivers best-practices, products, and resources that contractors can use to balance environmental, social, and economic issues relative to sustainable construction.
The Construction Specifier by Kenilworth Media Inc.
The Construction Specifier is the only peer-reviewed U.S. publication targeted to those professionals who select, recommend and influence buying decisions. It is the official magazine of the Construction Specifications Institute (CSI), a national organization established in 1948. It remains the association’s primary vehicle for disseminating construction information and fostering communication amongst building design professionals.

Custom Builder by Housing Zone
Custom Builder magazine provides breaking news, industry trends, product innovations, and best practices for the custom home building market.
Fine Homebuilding by The Taunton Press, Inc.
Fine Homebuilding has expert advice on framing, trim carpentry, home design, and specialized trades with professional how-to videos, step-by-step projects, design galleries, tool reviews, blogs, and articles from our magazine.
Professional Remodeler by Housing Zone
Professional Remodeler provides breaking news, trends and best practices for the remodeling industry.
Qualified Remodeler by Cygnus Business Media
Helps independent remodeling firms to survive, become more professional and more profitable by providing must-have business information, namely best business practices, new product information and timely design ideas.

Fire Technology by Springer
The interdisciplinary journal Fire Technology spans a range of fire safety science and engineering problems in industrial, operational, cultural, and environmental applications. Topics include materials testing, fire modeling, detection and suppression, performance standards, human behavior, and fire risk analysis. Coverage extends to fire safety science, fire protection engineering, fire research, fire risk analysis, fire investigation, municipal fire protection, wildland fires, loss statistics, and related subjects. Fire Technology publishes original contributions, both theoretical and empirical, that contribute to the solution of problems in fire safety and related fields.Contents include brief technical notes, viewpoints, notes on current research activities, book reviews, software reviews, technical news, meeting notices, and letters to the editor.Fire Technology is published in conjunction with the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA).
Journal of Fire Protection Engineering by SAGE
Provides fire protection engineers, fire safety engineers and other engineering professionals with clear descriptions both of state-of-the-art engineering methods and new data obtained from modern measurement or survey techniques. Examples and detailed case studies demonstrate how these advanced methods and valuable data can be applied to the fire safety design and evaluation of buildings and other structures (e.g., bridges, tunnels, etc.) and transportation vehicles (e.g. rail, ship and aircraft).
Journal of Fire Sciences by SAGE
The Journal of Fire Sciences is a leading journal for the reporting of significant applied research within the fire safety science community. Its content is aimed toward the prevention and mitigation of the adverse effects of fires involving combustible materials. The Journal of Fire Sciences covers experimental or theoretical studies of fire initiation and growth, fire containment, fire threat to people and the environment and fire safety engineering.
PM Engineer by BNP Media
PM Engineer (pme) is an engineering information source for specifiers/designers of plumbing, piping, hydronic, fire protection and solar thermal systems.

Advances in Building Energy Research by Taylor & Francis
Provides expert reviews and analyses of the most important developments across the fields of energy efficiency and environmental performance of buildings.
Building and Environment by Elsevier Ltd.
Building and Environment is an international journal that publishes original research papers and review articles related to building science and human interaction with the built environment. The Journal is focused on new knowledge, rigorously verified with measurement and analysis, related to the environmental performance of buildings in different scales, ranging from cities, communities, buildings, to building systems and assemblies.
Building Services Engineering Research and Technology by SAGE
Building Services Engineering Research & Technology is one of the foremost, international peer reviewed journals that publishes the highest quality original research relevant to today’s Built Environment. Published in conjunction with CIBSE, this impressive journal reports on the latest research providing you with an invaluable guide to recent developments in the field. BSER&T covers the full range of energy and environmental services in buildings, including: heating, ventilation, air conditioning, building, electrical services, building acoustics, water supply and sanitation, and vertical transport.
Construction Global by White Digital Media Group
Seeks to inform, engage and interact with construction executives about key trends, technological advances and software innovation, modern construction techniques, operational excellence and more.
Engineered Systems by BNP Media
Engineered Systems (ES) Magazine provides practical, energy-efficient solutions for mechanical engineering projects. Whether it's a renovation or new construction, ES delivers new ideas to help your commercial, institutional, industrial, and government buildings achieve LEED and Energy Star certification. Written by engineers for engineers.
Journal of Green Building by College Publishing
Publishes peer-reviewed research for the sustainable built environment at the building, community, neighborhood and urban scale
Journal of Sustainable Cement-Based Materials by the Guangxi University
Publishes theoretical and applied researches on materials, products, and structures that incorporate cement.
Sustainable Construction by Cygnus Business Media
Sustainable Construction magazine delivers best-practices, products, and resources that contractors can use to balance environmental, social, and economic issues relative to sustainable construction.

Concrete Construction by Hanley Wood, LLC
Provides the latest technical and how-to information needed to improve quality, reduce costs, and increase profitability to professionals actively involved in the design, specification, use, placement, and repair of concrete.
Concrete Contractor by Cygnus Business Media
Delivers only the best, most practical and newsworthy material to the concrete contractor. In each issue, readers benefit from information on concrete equipment, current technology, job-site solutions, tips on staying competitive, finance, insurance and a host of other hard-hitting material.
Concrete Surfaces by Hanley Wood, LLC
A special supplement to Concrete Construction magazine focusing on the installation, finishing, and repair of concrete surfaces.
Construction and Building Materials by Elsevier Ltd.
Construction and Building Materials provides an international forum for the dissemination of research and development in the field of construction and building materials and their application in new works and repair practice. The journal publishes a wide range of research and application papers which describe laboratory and numerical investigations or report on full scale projects. Construction and Building Materials also publishes detailed case studies and review articles, as well as short communications and discussions. The materials and technology covered include: cement, concrete reinforcement, bricks and mortars, additives, corrosion technology, ceramics, timber, steel, polymers, glass fibres, recycled materials and by-products, sealants, adhesives. The scope of Construction and Building Materials includes, but is not restricted to, new works and repair and maintenance of the following: bridges, high-rise buildings, dams, civil engineering structures, silos, highway pavements, tunnels, water containment structures, sewers, roofing, housing, coastal defences.
Journal of Sustainable Cement-Based Materials by the Guangxi University
Publishes theoretical and applied researches on materials, products, and structures that incorporate cement.
Masonry Construction by Hanley Wood, LLC
Masonry Construction serves as the masonry industry’s independent source of information. Published a print magazine from 1988 to 2011, Masonry Construction has been involved in key industry initiatives and activities. Now through its website and newsletters, Masonry Construction remains the essential source of information on the technological advancements in masonry materials and equipment. Masonry Construction’s audience includes contractors, architects, design engineers, and owners. Masonry Construction remains an official publication for the World of Concrete, held each year in Las Vegas, and hosts the annual Masonry Construction Project of the Year Awards.

Building Construction: Find Articles

Find Articles Using...

Work from Anywhere!

Do we own it?

We don't own it...but we can get it for you!