Research Guides: CIT230 Fundamentals of Information Security: Scholarly Articles

What is Peer-reviewed?

Scholarly journals include "peer-reviewed" articles. But what does this mean?

Peer-reviewed: Articles published by authors who went through a process of creditibility and expertise before they were published. A review board made up of experts in particular fields read and critique an article before it is published in scholarly journals. At times, a peer-review board reject authors' writings. This accounts for exceptional research and writing materials from experts in their field when they finally are published.

What does peer-reviewed look like?

Most library databases will allow you to limit to "peer-reviewed" titles OR it will be labeled on the article.
May have 'bulletin,' 'journal,' or 'review' in the title: ex - International Review of Hydrobiology
Authors are scholars, researchers, affiliated with universities, or have professional titles.
Publication dates are on a monthly, quarterly, or semiannual basis.
Usually have an 'Abstract' at the beginning of the article summarizing the articles contents
Includes a reference list, citations or footnotes for research

Library Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library contains the full-text of every article ever published by the Association of Computing Machinery.

Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of computer topics, including database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the Internet.
Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. A complete picture of companies and business trends internationally.

Gale OneFile: Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Business and technical publications in computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. Includes computer product introductions, news and reviews in hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and technology applications.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles covering the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and others.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back runs of scholarly journals dating back to the 1600s. The past 1-5 years of current titles may not be available. Subjects include arts, business and economics, history, humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and more.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

Access Library Databases Anywhere!

The Madigan Library's databases can be accessed from wherever you are, 24 hours a day/7 days a week.

Once you click on a link to a database, login with your network ID & password
This is the same login you use to any campus computer.

Didn't find it in our databases? Use Interlibrary Loan!

Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article or the book you want? Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan system, to request what you need from another library. Tipasa is incorporated into many of our databases. Look for the button or words Request It from Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article or book from another library. This service is free of charge for students.