Research Guides: Community & Public Health: Quick Links

Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information on the diagnosis, treatment, medications, and follow-up of diseases and conditions, as well as related illnesses typically associated with certain diseases and conditions.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care tool designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Medical calculators, drug interactions, and patient education materials are included.

Public Health
Browse the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews for reviews on this topic.

Cognability
Measures how well your neighborhood can support cognitive health (the ability to think, learn, and remember clearly) as you age.

CINAHL® Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
ProQuest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health, 2e by Brigham Narins
Publication Date: 2020
Focuses on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic and pandemic diseases; chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer, and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying, and new substance abuse issues. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures.
Volume 1 | Volume 2