Drugs & Pharmaceuticals: Guides & Handbooks

Provides a concise, consistent presentation of the basic principles essential to the modern practice of anesthesia.

Covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice.

Includes the popular Trivia Sorter, which helps you understand the mechanism of action for the class of drugs and its side effects; consider if the drug is for a disorder or symptom; determine the unique features of single drugs in this class; and know the side effects and drug interactions of the class of drugs.

Sequential images present mechanisms of action and focus on showing rather than telling students how drugs work, and review questions with answers deliver practical exam preparation.

Source of scientifically rigorous, impartial information on 180 commonly used herbal medicinal products.

Reference text for all healthcare professionals who require evidence-based information on the interactions of conventional medicines with herbal medicines, dietary supplements and nutraceuticals.

Detailed monographs for 300 commonly used herbal products and natural supplements include vital information on the products you'll encounter with your clients.

Provides insight into the chemistry of herbs and their healing properties, explaining how and why they work as medicines within the body.

Illustrated compendium of information on plants and their diverse therapeutic properties and benefits brings together folklore, scientific research, and medical theory to describe hundreds of plants and their origins.

Includes more than 350 of the best-known medicinal plants of the world and their uses, in a compact, colorful and scientifically accurate reference text.

Presents a simple approach to the treatment of common ailments, explaining how to assess one's own health and fitness based on one's temperament, and details 150 specific remedies to promote optimum health.

Source for accessible, evidence-based information that serves as a guide for using natural, nutritional remedies to help achieve and maintain wellness.

Useful for point-of-care patient counseling on OTC products, offering the facts on conditions patients may choose to self-treat and appropriate nonprescription pharmacotherapy.

Provides the critical information needed to diagnose and manage drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Covers initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, seizures and hypotension; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced elimination of poisons.

Discusses chemical effects on biological systems, with a focus on understanding the mechanisms by which chemicals induce adverse health effects.