Electrical Technology: Guides & Handbooks

Provides information in: Circuits and Networks, Electric Power Systems, Electronics, Computer-Aided Design and Optimization, VLSI Systems, Signal Processing, Digital Systems and Computer Engineering, Digital Communication and Communication Networks, Electromagnetics and Control and Systems.

For ease of use, this edition has been divided into the following subject sections: general principles; materials and processes; control, power electronics and drives; environment; power generation; transmission and distribution; power systems; sectors of electricity use. New chapters and major revisions include: industrial instrumentation; digital control systems; programmable controllers; electronic power conversion; environmental control; hazardous area technology; electromagnetic compatibility; alternative energy sources; alternating current generators; electromagnetic transients; power system planning; reactive power plant and FACTS controllers; electricity economics and trading; power quality.

For more than a century, the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers has served as the definitive source for all the pertinent electrical engineering data essential to both engineering students and practicing engineers. It offers comprehensive information on the generation, transmission, distribution, control, operation, and application of electric power. Completely revised throughout to address the latest codes and standards, the 16th Edition of this renowned reference offers new coverage of green technologies such as smart grids, smart meters, renewable energy, and cogeneration plants. Modern computer applications and methods for securing computer network infrastructures that control power grids are also discussed. Featuring hundreds of detailed illustrations and contributions from more than 75 global experts, this state-of-the-art volume is an essential tool for every electrical engineer.

From portable CD drivers to heavy industry behemoths, this title covers various useful facts about electric motors. It includes traction applications, the solid-state motor-drive controllers, electrical and mechanical parameters, specifications, shapes, performance, and protection.

Completely revised to reflect the 2012 National Electrical Safety Code (NESC), The Lineman's and Cableman's Handbook, 12th Edition, provides in-depth information on overhead and underground distribution and transmission lines. The latest OSHA, ANSI, and ASTM standards are emphasized throughout. This authoritative resource presents basic principles, equipment, standards, and safety regulations, allowing electrical workers to avoid costly errors, diagnose and repair power failures, and ensure optimum safety. A wealth of illustrations and photographs make it easy to understand the material, and self-test questions and exercises help reinforce key concepts.

Fully updated with the latest NEC and OSHA standards, this one-stop portable guide contains the crucial electrical data, formulas, calculations, and safety information essential at any jobsite. The Lineman's and Cableman's Field Manual, Second Edition, provides easy-to-follow details on constructing, operating, and maintaining both overhead and underground electric distribution and transmission lines. Helpful charts, tables, diagrams, equations, and definitions are included throughout this handy resource. The new edition of the manual covers: Line conductors * Cable, splices, and terminations * Distribution voltage transformers * Wood-pole structures * Guying * Lightning and surge protection * Fuses * Inspection and maintenance plans * Tree trimming * Rope, knots, splices, and gear * Grounding * Protective grounds * Safety equipment and rescue.

Based on the 2020 National Electrical Code (NEC), the Handbook clarifies concepts for a better understanding of the Code.

Revised for the latest National Electrical Code®, the 3rd edition of Residential Wiring introduces the general wiring principles, methods, installations, calculations, and service equipment used in 90% of dwellings. This best-selling primer combines explanations of 2008 NEC requirements with hands-on information about construction practices for installing electrical systems in one- and two-family dwellings.