Research Guides: Electrical Technology: Find Books & Videos

Why use books?

In today's online world, do books still have a part to play? Absolutely!

Books can provide you with reliable information you can count on and include in your works cited/reference page. They often provide:

Background information
In-depth coverage of topic
Chapters that can break a topic down into smaller, more easily understood pieces
Pointers to more information on the same topic

Find Books & Videos Using...

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text of eBooks on a variety of topics.
eBook Open Access Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers access to thousands of titles on various topics, without DRM (digital rights management) restrictions.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
The National Academies Press
Publishes more than 200 publications per year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text eBooks on a variety of topics. Users must create an account to download materials.

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

The Library of Congress classification for electrical technology is TK. More specifically, TK is broken down as follows:

TK4125-4399 Electric lighting
- TK4164 Electricians' manuals
- TK4195-4198 Lighting machinery and supplies
- TK4201-4238 Central stations for lighting
- TK4241 Machinery for electric lighting plants
- TK4251-4255 Distribution in electric lighting (including wiring and installation)
- TL4303-4391 Systems of electric lighting (DC and AC, electric lamps, arc lighting, incandescent lighting, electric discharge lighting, etc.)
- TK4399 Special uses of electric lighting, A-Z (auditoriums, emergency lighting, hotels, mills, power plants, theaters, etc.)
TK4601-4661 Electric heating
- TK4635 Infrared heating
- TK4660 Electric welding
- TK4660.5 Electric cutting
- TK4661 Electric furnaces
TK7018-7301 Installation of household appliances (including bells, buzzers, alarms, and clocks)

Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

TH Building Construction

TH6012 Building control systems
TH7700-7975 Illumination. Lighting
- TK7715 Standards. Specifications
- TH7791-7799 Natural lighting
- TH7900-7975 Artificial lighting

TJ Mechanical Engineering and Machinery

TJ163.12 Mechatronics
TJ807-830 Renewable energy sources
- TJ809-812.8 Solar energy
- TJ820-828 Wind power