Research Guides: Health Statistics: Social Determinants of Health

America's Health Rankings

Economic
Economic factors, such as income, education, poverty, employment and more, affect our ability to make healthy choices, manage stress, afford medical care and achieve and maintain optimal health.
Economic Stability
Explore the economic factors that affect our ability to make healthy choices, afford medical care and achieve and maintain optimal health.
Education Access and Quality
Education has a profound impact on health. Higher educational attainment is linked to better jobs, higher incomes, better knowledge of health and fewer chronic health conditions. Explore measures of educational attainment.
Environment and Community
The physical and social environment of a community affects everyone who lives there. Safe neighborhoods that are free of pollution, have affordable and safe housing and offer opportunity can improve the lives and health of the community.
Health Care Access and Quality
Access to timely, affordable, high-quality health care can help prevent and treat health issues. Explore health care access and quality measures.
Neighborhood and Built Environment
The physical and social environment of a community affects everyone who lives there. Explore measures pertaining to the neighborhood and built environment.
Risk of Social Isolation
Risk of social isolation is a composite of seven different census measures. Explore how each measure is connected to the overall risk.
Social
Social factors, such as social support, family dynamics and community safety, affect our ability to manage stress, make health choices and achieve and maintain optimal health.
Social and Community Context
Social and community factors like social support, family dynamics and community engagement affect our ability to manage stress, make healthy choices and achieve and maintain optimal health. Find out more about these social factors.

Other Resources

Social Determinants of Health Database
Data files include data that correspond to five key SDOH domains: social context (e.g., age, race/ethnicity, veteran status), economic context (e.g., income, unemployment rate), education, physical infrastructure (e.g., housing, crime, transportation), and health care context (e.g., health insurance).
Social Determinants of Health
Priority area of Healthy People 2030.
Social Determinants of Health: Charts
National Center for HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention AtlasPlus
Social Determinants of Health: Maps
National Center for HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention AtlasPlus
Social Determinants of Health: Tables
National Center for HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention AtlasPlus

American Community Survey (ACS) Data Profiles
Contains the most frequently requested social, economic, housing, and demographic data.
Area Health Resources Files
Information from over 50 data sources on health care professions, health facilities, population characteristics, economics, health professions training, hospital utilization, hospital expenditures, and environment at the county, state, and national levels.
Atlas of Rural and Small-Town America
Provides statistics by broad categories of socioeconomic factors: people, jobs, county classification, income, and veterans.
Behavioral Health Risks of Pennsylvania Adults
Reports containing data from annual surveys of modifiable risks that affect people's health.
CDC/ATSDR Social Vulnerability Index
Uses 16 U.S. census variables to help local officials identify communities that may need support before, during, or after disasters.
Community Resilience Estimates
Provide an easily understood metric for how socially vulnerable every neighborhood in the United States is to the impacts of disasters, including COVID-19.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
Compares the health of nearly all counties in the United States to others within its own state, and supports coalitions tackling the social, economic and environmental factors that influence health.
Crime Data Explorer
Provides data on violent and property crime incidents.
EDDIE (Enterprise Data Dissemination Informatics Exchange)
Interactive health statistics dissemination web tool where you can create customized data tables, charts and maps for various health related data.
Environmental Justice Index
Uses data from the U.S. Census Bureau, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Mine Safety and Health Administration, and the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to rank the cumulative impacts of environmental injustice on health for every census tract. The EJI ranks each tract on 36 environmental, social, and health factors and groups them into three overarching modules and ten different domains.
Fatality Analysis Reporting System
Nationwide census providing yearly data regarding fatal injuries suffered in motor vehicle traffic crashes.
Finding Statistics and Data Related to Rural Health
from RHIhub
Food Environment Atlas
Provides estimates on three broad categories of food environment factors: food choices (e.g., access and proximity to a grocery store; number of food stores and restaurants), health and well-being (e.g., food insecurity), and community characteristics (e.g., demographic composition; recreation and fitness centers).
Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data
Gateway to health-related statistics from around the world.
Health Inequality Monitor
Explore health inequality monitoring evidence, tools, resources and training from the World Health Organization.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
The Nation's most comprehensive source of hospital care data, including information on in-patient stays, ambulatory surgery and services visits, and emergency department encounters.
Local Area Transportation Characteristics for Households
Provides average weekday household person-miles traveled, person trips, vehicle-miles traveled and vehicle trips at census tract level.
Local Area Unemployment Statistics
Provides data on unemployment rates by month and 12-month net changes.
Location Affordability Index
Provides estimates of household housing and transportation costs at the neighborhood-level along with constituent data on the built environment and demographic characteristics.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage. It is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States.
National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network
Brings together health data and environment data from national, state, and city sources and provides supporting information to make the data easier to understand.
National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports
Presents trends for measures related to access to care, affordable care, care coordination, effective treatment, healthy living, patient safety, and person-centered care. The report presents, in chart form, the latest available findings on quality of and access to healthcare, as well as disparities related to race and ethnicity, income, and other social determinants of health.
PLACES: Local Data for Better Health
Provides model-based, population-level analysis and community estimates of health measures to all counties, places (incorporated and census designated places), census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) across the United States.
WHO/ILO Joint Estimates of the Work-related Burden of Disease and Injury
These estimates quantify the number of deaths and amount of health loss (disability-adjusted life years or DALYs) caused by occupational risk factors. Global, regional and national estimates are produced, disaggregated by sex and age group.