Infectious Diseases: Textbooks

Volume 1 covers recent changes in emerging viruses, providing new or extensively revised chapters that reflect these advances. Volume 2 overs the latest information on DNA viruses, how they cause disease, including cancer, how they persist in the body in a latent form, reactivate and spread, new therapeutics and vaccine approaches, as provided in new or extensively revised chapters that reflect these advances. Volume 3 covers the latest information on RNA viruses, how they cause disease, how they can cause epidemics and pandemics, new therapeutics and vaccine approaches, as provided in new or extensively revised chapters that reflect these advances in this dynamic field.

Contains practical advice and background on vaccine program infrastructure, standards and regulations, business aspects of vaccine practice, general recommendations, schedules, special circumstances, and how to address the concerns.

Includes strategies for preventing or reducing exposure to bloodborne and airborne pathogens, such as HIV, the hepatitis B virus, tuberculosis, and other unusual infectious diseases. Includes new content addressing superbugs such as COVID-19 and Ebola.

Each chapter includes a discussion of the disease processes and abnormalities that may occur, with a focus on the pathophysiologic concepts involved.

Profiles hundreds of diseases and disorders in a way that is easy to understand and easy to use, following the progression of a patient's experience from signs and symptoms to screening, diagnosis, treatment options, and patient education.

Comprehensive guidance on diagnosing and treating infectious diseases.

Keeps you up to date with everything from infectious diseases and environmental issues through poisoning and toxicology, animal injuries, and nutritional and micronutrient deficiencies that result from traveling to tropical or subtropical regions.

Discusses the everyday application of genetic assessment and the diagnostic, therapeutic, and preventive implications to the most common adult diseases that healthcare providers encounter.

Beginning with an introductory chapter that surveys how infectious diseases have impacted human societies over the centuries, this broad descriptive text moves on to examine epidemiological concepts related to infectious disease, from outbreak and epidemic investigations, to study design infectious disease transmission and prevention.

Designed to help critical care specialists and other healthcare practitioners prepare and plan for potential outbreaks of emerging or resurgent HIDs, lead a team in the ICU, perform emergency triage, and provide care for patients with a HID.

Provides a concise overview needed to understand, diagnose, and treat common infectious diseases safely and effectively.

Provides a broad overview of the most common and important human diseases. Addresses the aspects of disease epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment that are essential to clinical practice.

Chapters begin with a brief description of the disorder followed by a discussion that includes tables detailing the laboratory evaluation of specific disorders, diagnosis, baseline tests to exclude diagnostic possibilities, and clinical indications that warrant further screening and special testing.

Reviews the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice.

Covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach.