Research Guides: Mathematics: Biographies

Search for Articles

Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexed resources on where to find biographical material on people from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Includes biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

Books in the Library Collection

African Americans in Science, Math, and Invention, rev. ed. by Moser & Otfinoski
Publication Date: 2012
Presents alphabetized biographical profiles of important contemporary and historic African-Americans in the fields of math, science, and invention. Each entry includes a further reading list.
American Men and Women of Science, 22nd-30th eds. by Andrea Kovacs Henderson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2005-2012
Profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists.

Websites

Biographical Memoirs
Brief biographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members, written by those who knew them or their work.
Biographies of Women Mathematicians
By Larry Riddle, Professor of Mathematics at Agnes Scott College, this site is part of an on-going project to illustrate the numerous achievements of women in the field of mathematics.
Catalog of the Scientific Community in the 16th and 17th Centuries
Collection of 631 detailed biographies on members of the scientific community during the 16th and 17th centuries with vital facts about each individual and their contributions to science.
History of Mathematics Links: Sites Relating to Individual Mathematicians
Includes links to sites or sections of sites relate to the life and work of individual mathematicians.
MacTutor History of Mathematics
Included are links to birthplace maps, female mathematicians, and mathematicians of the day.
Materials for the History of Statistics
Includes biographical sections on statisticians.
Mathematicians of the African Diaspora (MAD)
Exhibits the accomplishments of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora within the Mathematical Sciences.
Mathematicians of the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries
Accounts of the lives and works of seventeenth and eighteenth century mathematicians (and some other scientists), adapted from A Short Account of the History of Mathematics by W. W. Rouse Ball (4th Edition, 1908).
SACNAS Biography Project
From the Society for Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science.
Statisticians in History
From the American Statistical Association.