Mathematics: Guides and Handbooks

Practical approach to the basic notions, formulas, equations, problems, theorems, methods, and laws that most frequently occur in scientific and engineering applications and university education.

The CRC Handbook of Mathematical Sciences contains the most up-to-date, authoritative, logically arranged, and ready-usable collection of reference material available. The 6th edition has been vastly improved by the addition of material on numerical solutions of nonlinear equations, statistical tests of hypotheses, statistical confidence intervals, and analysis of variance tables.

The previous edition of this resource (1996) was the first "modern" edition of the handbook, adapted to be useful in the era of personal computers and handheld devices. This 31st edition has been revised to be more user friendly, with a detailed table of contents and an extensive index listing 6,000 entries. There is new coverage of topics including game theory and voting power, heuristic search techniques, quadratic fields, reliability, and risk analysis, as well as representation of groups of small order and tesselations and tilings. Algorithms and examples are presented in improved formats. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

Presents formulas, relationships between functions, and mathematical techniques that range from matrix theory and integrals of commonly occurring functions to vector calculus, Fourier series, orthogonal polynomials, and Laplace and Fourier transforms. This book is suitable for students in applied mathematics, engineering, and physics.

A particularly useful reference for those in math, science, engineering, and other technical fields. This comprehensive handbook includes the most-frequently used formulas, tables, transforms, functions, and graphs needed as tools in solving problems. The entire field of special functions is covered, as well as a large amount of scientific data used by scientists and engineers. An extensive and detailed index makes topics of interest easy to review and locate.

This book has been compiled and arranged to meet the needs of students and workers in mathematics, engineering, physics, chemistry, science, and other fields in which mathematical computations or processes of a mathematical nature are required.

Recognizing the importance of mathematics in research and commerce, the many instances in which different aspects of mathematics are coming to inform each other, and the prevalence of the personal computer, Zeidler and contributors offer a basic overview of mathematics for students, practitioners, and teachers. They begin by explaining basic formulas, graphs and tables, then describe analysis (including vector analysis, differential equations, and complex function theory), algebra (including linear algebra, Galois theory, and number theory), geometry (including Euclidean, projective, differential and algebraic), calculus of variations and optimization, statistical calculus and the mathematics of chance, and numerical mathematics and scientific computing. They include a sketch of the history of mathematics, a list of mathematical symbols, and tables of physical constants. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR