Research Guides: Medical Ethics & Professionalism: Books & Videos

Select Titles

Medical Law and Ethics, 8e by Jonathan Herring
Call Number: K3601 .H47 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Covers the core legal principles, key cases, and statutes that govern medical law alongside the key ethical debates and dilemmas that exist in the field.
Medical Law and Ethics, 6e by Bonnie Fremgen
Call Number: KF3821 .F74 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Plain-language guide to the law and ethics of healthcare. Includes real legal cases and covers issues of increasing concern in hospitals and medical offices, including the opioid crisis in the US, electronic recordkeeping, and the needs of elderly and handicapped populations.
Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals, 6e by George D. Pozgar (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF3821 .P69 2024
Publication Date: 2024
Designed to assist the reader in a more comfortable transition from the didactics of the classroom to the practical application in the workplace. Provides a clearer understanding of how the law and ethics are intertwined as they relate to health care dilemmas.
Principles of Biomedical Ethics, 8e by Tom L. Beauchamp; James F. Childress
Call Number: R724 .B36 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Drawing from contemporary research--and integrating detailed case studies and vivid real-life examples and scenarios—the authors demonstrate how these prima facie principles can be expanded to apply to various conflicts and dilemmas, from how to deliver bad news to whether or not to withhold or withdraw life-sustaining treatments.
Professionalism in Health Care: A Primer for Career Success, 5e by Sherry Makely
Call Number: R725.5 .M35 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Covers crucial soft skills such as work ethic, character, relationships, teamwork, communication and etiquette, honesty, cultural competence, personal image, and personal health and wellness.
Ethics & Issues in Contemporary Nursing, 4e by Margaret A. Burkhardt; Alvita Nathaniel
Call Number: RT85 .B766 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Examines the principles, theories, and models in patient care to help nurses make ethically sound decisions in complex and often controversial situations.

Search Tools

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Madigan Library Discovery catalog includes the largest network of content and services. Includes articles, books, eBooks, videos, and digital items.

Google Books
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, search WorldCat and expand your search to Libraries Worldwide, then Request It from Interlibrary Loan.

Browse by Call Number

R Medicine (General)

R724-726 Medical ethics. Medical etiquette
- R725.55-725.59 Religious aspects
- RC726 Prolongation or termination of life-sustaining care. Euthanasia. Assisted suicide

RA Public Aspects of Medicine

RA427.25 Moral and ethical aspects of public health

RC Internal Medicine

RC455.2 .E8 Ethics in psychiatry
RC489 .E83 Ethical therapy in psychotherapy

RD Surgery

RD27.7 Surgical ethics

RK Dentistry

RK52.7 Dental ethics

RT Nursing

RT85 Nursing ethics

RZ Other Systems of Medicine

RZ236.5 Chiropractic ethics