Skip to Main Content

NUR205 Perspectives on Aging: Articles

Resources for finding information on health care issues and the 65+ age group.

Search Tips

Use quotation marks around phrases, e.g. "health care" (except in PubMed)
Use an asterisk to truncate search words, e.g., gerontolog* = gerontology, gerontological, gerontologist, etc.
Use AND to connect keywords and phrases, e.g., "health care" AND elderly
Use synonyms to see if you get different results, e.g. elderly, geriatric, old, senior, aged, etc.

Journal Locator

Journal Locator
Search for the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper in which your article appears.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
Use Tipasa to request articles, books, etc., that we don't have.

Medical Literature

CINAHL® Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.

CINAHL Search Tips

Use Advanced Search
Limit by Age Groups selecting Aged: 65+ years

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.

Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Designed for researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

ProQuest Search Tips

Limit to scholarly journals and/or peer-reviewed OR popular magazines
Use advanced search to narrow your search; change Anywhere to Document-TI to see if there is an article title on your topic

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to journal articles, books, chapters in books, and dissertations published as far back as 1806, in the field of psychology, as well as related disciplines like education, medicine, psychiatry, law, and social work.

PsycINFO Search Tips

Use the Advanced Search option
Enter nursing and change Anywhere to Publication title -- PUB
Limit by Age Group selecting Aged (65 Yrs & Older) or Very Old (85 Yrs & Older)

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.

PubMed Search Tips

Once you do a search, click on Show additional filters
Check the box next to Ages, then click Show
Click on Aged: 65+ years
Do not use quotation marks
Add nursing[mh] to the search box followed by AND plus your search terms to limit results to nursing articles, e.g., nursing[mh] AND prenatal care

SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.