Research Guides: Nursing Management &amp; Leadership: Quick Links

Best Bets for Finding Journal Articles

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
CINAHL® Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pprovides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Includes nurse management.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back runs of scholarly journals dating back to the 1600s. The past 1-5 years of current titles may not be available. Subjects include arts, business and economics, history, humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and more.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.

CINAHL® Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Designed for researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.

Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice Training Course
Demonstrates how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed.

SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.

Nursing Leadership: A Concise Encyclopedia by Marilyn Jaffe-Ruiz (Editor); Margaret L. McClure (Editor); Martha J. Greenberg (Editor); Thomas D. Smith (Editor); M. Janice Nelson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008
Organized around nine themes, with five themes embracing the most salient management and leadership theories, including characteristics and skills required of leaders in today's complex health care system: Characteristics of Leaders Management and Executive Skills Theories and Models of Management and Leadership Major Leaders in Nursing Professional Standards Health Care Delivery Standards and Health Policy Leadership in Practice, Education, and Research Quality Outcomes Informatics and Technology.

Nursing Administration: Scope and Standards of Practice, 2e by the American Nurses Association
Publication Date: 2016
Covers all aspects of a nurse administrator's practice in any setting or role and at any level of influence and authority. Topics discussed include: core role accountabilities, role qualifications (including certification and education), the ethics of nursing administration, and the practice issues, opportunities and trends that every nurse administrator must know.