Research Guides: Obstetrics & Gynecology Nursing: Quick Links

Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

Evidence-Based Care Sheets
Summaries on specific key topics, which are focused on nursing practice. Each sheet incorporates the latest evidence, statistics, research and references on a given topic. The references are ranked, using a coding matrix, according to the type of literature they represent (systematic reviews, meta-analysis, etc).

LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
Contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.

Pregnancy and Birth Sourcebook, 4e by Omnigraphics (Contribution by); Angela L. Williams
Publication Date: 2019
Provides consumer health information about pregnancy and fetal development, physical and emotional changes during pregnancy, prenatal care and diagnostic tests, high-risk pregnancies and complications. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
New Dimensions in Women's Health, 8e by Linda Lewis Alexander; Judith H. LaRosa; Helaine Bader; William Alexander
Call Number: RA778 .A438 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Provides a modern look at the health of women of all cultures, races, ethnicities, socioeconomic backgrounds, and sexual orientations.

CINAHL® Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Designed for researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher sites. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library. Search tip: Add nursing[mh] to the search box followed by AND plus your search terms to limit results to nursing articles. E.g., nursing[mh] AND prenatal care

Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice Training Course
Demonstrates how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Pregnancy and Childbirth by Deirdre S. Blanchfield; Gale Cengage Learning Staff (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Covers common and rare disease and medical conditions, immunizations and drugs, procedures, and developmental issues related to pregnancy and childbirth. Addresses women’s concerns about their health and their children’s health from before birth through age 18.