Research Guides: Pediatrics: Quick Links

Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools.

5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information on the diagnosis, treatment, medications, and follow-up of diseases and conditions, as well as related illnesses typically associated with certain diseases and conditions.
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
You will need to have a MyAccess profile to use the files. Click on the link to MyAccess on the main page and follow directions.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care tool designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Medical calculators, drug interactions, and patient education materials are included.

Case Files: Pediatrics, 6e by Mark D. Hormann; Margaret C. McNeese; Sheela L. Lahoti; Mark Jason Sanders; Abby M. Geltemeyer; Eugene C. Toy; Robert J. Yetman
Publication Date: 2021
Features 60 realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy Through Adolescence, 4e by Gale Research Inc (Other)
Publication Date: 2021
Offers reliable and understandable information about the causes, symptoms, treatments, and diseases facing the human population between the ages of birth through adolescence.
Volume 1 | Volume 2 | Volume 3 | Volume 4 | Volume 5 | Volume 6

Pediatrics
Covers topics including childhood vaccination, child maltreatment, congenital anomalies, infections in nenates, pediatric cancers, and incontinence in children, to name a few.

PeriStats
Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center and provides access to maternal and infant health data for the United States and by state or region, including more than 60,000 graphs, maps, and tables.

ProQuest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 13 ProQuest health and medicine databases at once.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.

Physical Assessment of the Newborn: A Comprehensive Approach to the Art of Physical Examination, 6e by Ellen P. Tappero; Mary Ellen Honeyfield
Publication Date: 2019
Addresses the physical, physiologic, neurologic, and behavioral implications of a thorough assessment, and explains how healthcare providers can reduce the risks associated with the transition to extrauterine life and the neonatal period.
Pediatric Physical Examination: An Illustrated Handbook, 3e by Karen Duderstadt
Call Number: RJ50 .D83 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Teaches the unique range of skills needed to assess children of all ages. Body system chapters begin with fetal development and take you through the key developmental stages of childhood. Features a new chapter on newborn physical examination, expanded coverage of skin conditions and new Red Flag highlights that help you recognize high-priority health issues.
Clinical Orthopedic Examination of a Child by Nirmal Raj Gopinathan
Call Number: RJ480 .C55 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Provides helpful tips and insights to orthopedic surgeons, professionals, and trainees for accurate diagnosis and treatment.

Child Health
Browse the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews for this topic.
Neonatal Care
Browse the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews for this topic.