BiographiesDictionariesEncyclopediasGuides and Handbooks
Arboreta and Botanical GardensAssociations, Institutes and SocietiesBryologyEcologyEdible and Medicinal PlantsEthnobotanyGenetics, Molecular Biology and BiotechnologyGovernment SitesImagesLibraries and MuseumsMiscellaneousMycologyPaleobotanyPathologyPhysiology and PhytochemistryPoisonous PlantsResearch CentersSystematics and IdentificationTeaching Resources
This is the "Home" page of the "Botany" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Botany  

This research guide contains resources used to find information on botany.
Last Updated: Oct 28, 2014 URL: http://pct.libguides.com/botany Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide contains links to databases containing articles, scholarly online resources, and information about print and electronic materials in the Madigan Library that can be helpful to your research.

If you have questions, contact me using the information on the right-hand side of this guide.  If I'm not available, try using our Ask a Librarian service.

 

Choosing a Topic

It may be helpful to read current news in botany to find ideas for topics that would be interesting to research.  The following is a list of journals that you can browse online.  If you find an article you wish to read, enter the journal title in Journal Locator to see if we have access to it.

Cover Art
American Fern Journal - The American Fern Society
The American Fern Journal is an international quarterly publication dedicated to the publication of articles and notes based on original scientific research on ferns and allied groups of vascular plants.

Cover Art
American Journal of Botany - Botanical Society of America
The American Journal of Botany (AJB) publishes peer-reviewed, innovative, significant research of interest to a wide audience of plant scientists in all areas of plant biology (structure, function, development, diversity, genetics, evolution, systematics), all levels of organization (molecular to ecosystem), and all plant groups and allied organisms (cyanobacteria, algae, fungi, and lichens). AJB requires authors to frame their research questions and discuss their results in terms of major questions of plant biology.

Cover Art
American Journal of Plant Physiology - Academic Journals Inc., USA
American Journal of Plant Physiology is an international peer-reviewed scientific journal dedicated to publish and disseminate original and high quality information governing basic processes in plant physiology and development. Scope of the journal covers: physiology, biochemistry, cellular and molecular biology, genetics, biophysics, and environmental biology of plants.

Cover Art
Annals of Botany - Oxford University Press
The Journal publishes full-length research papers, short communications, invited and submitted review articles, book reviews, and a selection of topical news items in the Plant Cuttings section. It also publishes 'Botanical Briefings'. These are short commissioned reviews that appear in both printed and electronic forms and that are accessible electronically free of charge. All papers in each issue are summarized briefly in ContentSnapshots. A rigorous review process ensures that readers are exposed to genuine and novel advances across a wide spectrum of botanical knowledge.

Cover Art
Annals of the Missouri Botanical Garden - Missouri Botanical Garden
The Annals is a peer-reviewed journal that contains papers primarily in systematic botany with an emphasis on tropical botany.

Cover Art
Annual Review of Plant Biology - Annual Reviews
The Annual Review of Plant Biology, in publication since 1950, covers the significant developments in the field of Plant Biology, including Biochemistry and Biosynthesis, Genetics, Genomics and Molecular Biology, Cell Differentiation, Tissue, Organ and Whole Plant Events, Acclimation and Adaptation, and Methods and Model Organisms.

Cover Art
Botanical Review - The New York Botanical Garden Press
For more than half a century, The Botanical Review has been a leading international journal noted for its in-depth articles on a broad spectrum of botanical fields. Systematics, phytogeography, cladistics, evolution, physiology, ecology, morphology, paleobotany, and anatomy are but a few of the many subjects that have been covered. The Botanical Review draws together outstanding scientists in the field, synthesizes the current knowledge about a specific subject, and promotes the advancement of botany by indicating the gaps in our knowledge and providing new outlooks on the topic.

Cover Art
Botanical Studies - Institute of Plant and Microbial Biology, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan
Botanical Studies is sponsored by the Institute of Plant and Microbial Biology, Academia Sinica, and is open for papers on all aspects of botany. The scope of the journal extends from plant molecular biology through classical botany to taxonomy and ecology. The privilege of publication in the journal is not restricted to members of the institution; contributions from research workers worldwide are welcome. Papers submitted to this journal must be original and not have been published elsewhere.

Cover Art
Botany - Canadian Science Publishing
Published since 1929, this monthly journal features comprehensive research articles and notes in all segments of plant sciences, including cell and molecular biology, ecology, mycology and plant-microbe interactions, phycology, physiology and biochemistry, structure and development, genetics, systematics, and phytogeography. It also publishes commentary and review articles on topics of current interest, contributed by internationally recognized scientists.

Cover Art
Brittonia - The New York Botanical Garden Press
Since 1931, Brittonia, assuming the broadest possible definition of the field of systematic botany, has been an important outlet for the publication of original research articles on anatomy, botanical history, chemotaxonomy, morphology, paleobotany, phylogenetic systematics, taxonomy, and phytogeography. Each issue contains articles by the staff of The New York Botanical Garden and outside contributors, book reviews, and announcements.

Cover Art
The Bryologist - The American Bryological and Lichenological Society, Inc.
The Society publishes a quarterly journal distributed world-wide, The Bryologist, which includes articles on all aspects of the biology of mosses, hornworts, liverworts and lichens; lists of current literature with world-wide coverage; book reviews; and news items about members and events.

Cover Art
Cactus and Succulent Journal - Cactus and Succulent Society of America
Cactus and Succulent Journal, the leading publication of its kind since 1929, features popular and scientific articles about cacti and other succulent plants, including caudiciform and pachycaul succulents and xerophytes. Each full color, bimonthly issue features horticultural instruction, new plants, research and conservation reports, travelouges, biographical and historical material and book-reviews. Numerous photographs of plants in habitat or in cultivation and fine botanical paintings, often commissioned for the cover, enrich the text. Lively travelogues give a sense of discovery, while (friendly) instructions on cultivation, propagation and pest control encourage a safe immersion in the world of succulents. CSJ is essential reading for all hobbyists and students of cacti and succulents, botanists, alpha-taxonomists, ecologists, conservationists, professional growers and florists on the edge.

Cover Art
Castanea - Southern Appalachian Botanical Society
The Southern Appalachian Botanical Society publishes papers relating to the botany of the Eastern United States. In addition, as the official publication of the Society, news and information of interest to the membership is also contained within the pages of this quarterly publication.

Cover Art
Critical Reviews in Plant Sciences - Taylor & Francis
Critical Reviews in Plant Sciences focuses on presenting in-depth and up-to-date reviews of timely subjects in the broad discipline of plant science, ranging from molecular biology/biochemistry through the areas of cell biology, plant physiology, genetics, classical botany, and ecology, to practical agricultural applications.

Cover Art
Current Opinion in Plant Biology - Elsevier Ltd.
In Current Opinion in plant Biology, we help the reader by providing in a systematic manner:
1. The views of experts on current advances in plant biology in a clear and readable form.
2. Evaluations of the most interesting papers, annotated by experts, from the great wealth of original publications.

Cover Art
Harvard Papers in Botany - Harvard University Herbaria
Harvard Papers in Botany is a refereed journal that welcomes longer monographic and floristic accounts of plants and fungi, as well as papers concerning economic botany, systematic botany, molecular phylogenetics, the history of botany, and relevant and significant bibliographies, as well as book reviews.

Cover Art
International Journal of Botany - Asian Network for Scientific Information
International Journal of Botany is an international well indexed scientific journal dedicated to publish high quality original research in the field of plant sciences. Scope of the journal includes: cell and molecular biology, ecology, mycology and plant pathology, phycology, physiology and biochemistry, structure and development, systematics, phytogeography and paleobotany.

Cover Art
Invasive Plant Science and Management - Weed Science Society of America
Invasive Plant Science and Management is a broad-based journal that focuses on: fundamental and applied research on invasive plant biology, ecology, management; restoration of invaded non-crop areas; and many other aspects relevant to invasive species, including educational activities, policy issues, sociopolitical impact, technological aspects and case study reports.

Cover Art
Journal of Experimental Botany - Oxford University Press
The Journal of Experimental Botany publishes high-quality primary research and review papers in the plant sciences. These papers cover a range of disciplines from molecular and cellular physiology and biochemistry through whole plant physiology to community physiology.

Cover Art
Journal of General Plant Pathology - The Phytopathological Society of Japan
The Journal of General Plant Pathology presents papers dealing with plant diseases or their control, including pathogen characterization, identification of pathogens, disease physiology and biochemistry, molecular biology, morphology and ultrastructure, genetics, disease transmission, ecology and epidemiology, chemical and biological control, disease assessment, and other topics relevant to plant pathological disorders. This is the journal of the Phytopathological Society of Japan.

Cover Art
Journal of Integrative Plant Biology - Botanical Society of China and Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Journal of Integrative Plant Biology (JIPB) is a monthly peer-reviewed scientific journal that reports the latest discoveries in plant biology. Established in 1952 and sponsored by Botanical Society of China and Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences, it is one of the leading academic journals in China.

Cover Art
Journal of Plant Physiology - Elsevier GmbH.
The Journal of Plant Physiology publishes original papers, reviews and short communications dealing with all aspects of plant biochemistry, molecular biology, physiology and basic aspects of plant biotechnology. The main focus of the journal is to disseminate original and high quality information governing basic processes in plant physiology and development. The journal also invites the submission of papers which bridge basic research in functional plant sciences with applied aspects of plant biotechnology.

Cover Art
Journal of Plant Research - The Botanical Society of Japan
The Journal of Plant Research is an international publication that gathers and disseminates fundamental knowledge in all areas of plant sciences. Coverage extends to every corner of the field, including such topics as evolutionary biology, phylogeography, phylogeny, taxonomy, genetics, ecology, morphology, physiology, developmental biology, cell biology, molecular biology, biochemistry, biophysics, bioinformatics, and systems biology.

Cover Art
Journal of the Torrey Botanical Society - Torrey Botanical Society
The Journal of the Torrey Botanical Society, the oldest botanical journal in North and South America, has as its primary goal the dissemination of scientific knowledge about plant biology, taking a broad view of the subject. Thus, we publish basic research in all areas of organismic botany including bryology, phycology, pteridology, mycology, and higher plants; as well as most areas of botanical specialization including paleobotany, taxonomy, systematics, genetics, anatomy, morphology, floristics, and ecology. Horticulture is excluded. Botanical research of the Western Hemisphere is emphasized.

Cover Art
Mycology: An International Journal on Fungal Biology - Mycological Society of China
Mycology publishes papers on all aspects of mycology including lichens, with preference to systematics, ecology and biodiversity, genomics and proteomics, and molecular phylogeny and evolution. Other appropriate subjects for the journal include bioinformatics, physiology and biochemistry, pathology, morphology development, cell biology, genetics, molecular biology, fungal enzymology, fungal metabolites and new techniques.

Cover Art
New Phytologist - New Phytologist Trust
New Phytologist offers rapid publication of high quality, original research in plant science. Falling within four sections - Physiology & Development, Environment, Interaction and Evolution - articles cover topics that range from intracellular processes through to global environmental change.

Cover Art
Novon: A Journal for Botanical Nomenclature - Missouri Botanical Garden
Novon is a peer reviewed journal that contains papers whose purpose is the establishment of new nomenclature in vascular plants and bryophytes.

Cover Art
Plant & Cell Physiology - Oxford University Press
Plant and Cell Physiology is an international journal devoted to the publication of original papers pertaining to physiology, biochemistry, biophysics, chemistry, genetics, molecular biology, gene engineering and cell engineering of plants and microorganisms.

Cover Art
Plant Biology - German Botanical Society and the Royal Botanical Society of the Netherlands
Plant Biology is an international journal of broad scope bringing together different subdisciplines, such as physiology, molecular biology, cell biology, development, genetics, systematics, ecology, evolution, ecophysiology, plant-microbe interactions, and mycology.

Cover Art
Plant Cell - American Society of Plant Biologists
The Plant Cell publishes novel research of special significance in plant biology, especially in the areas of cellular biology, molecular biology, genetics, development, and evolution. The primary criteria for publication are that the article provides new insight that is of broad interest to plant biologists, not only to specialists, and that the presentation of results is appropriate for a wide audience of plant biologists.

Cover Art
The Plant Journal - Society for Experimental Biology
Publishing the best original research papers in all key areas of modern plant biology from the world's leading laboratories, The Plant Journal provides a dynamic forum for this ever growing international research community.

Cover Art
Plant Molecular Biology - Springer
Plant Molecular Biology is an international journal dedicated to rapid publication of original research in all areas of plant biology. Since its founding in 1981, it has continually ranked among the leading journals. Coverage addresses important biological problems of broad interest. Coverage includes research in comparative genomics, functional genomics, proteomics, bioinformatics, computational biology, biochemical and regulatory networks, and biotechnology. Preference is given to publication of results that provide significant new insights into biological problems and that advance the understanding of structure, function, mechanisms, or regulation.

Cover Art
Plant Pathology Journal - British Society for Plant Pathology
This international journal, owned and edited by the British Society for Plant Pathology, covers all aspects of plant pathology and reaches subscribers in 80 countries. Top quality original research papers and critical reviews from around the world cover: diseases of temperate and tropical plants caused by fungi, bacteria, viruses, phytoplasmas and nematodes; physiological, biochemical, molecular, ecological, genetic and economic aspects of plant pathology; disease epidemiology and modelling; disease appraisal and crop loss assessment; and plant disease control and disease-related crop management.

Cover Art
Plant Physiology - American Society of Plant Biologists
Established in 1926, Plant Physiology® is an international journal devoted to physiology, biochemistry, cellular and molecular biology, genetics, biophysics, and environmental biology of plants.

Cover Art
Plant Science - Elsevier Ireland Ltd.
Plant Science will publish in the minimum of time, manuscripts recommended by its referees in all areas of experimental plant biology with emphasis in the broad areas of genomics, proteomics, biochemistry (including enzymology), physiology, cell biology, development, genetics and molecular biology.

Cover Art
Research Journal of Botany - Academic Journals Inc., USA
Research Journal of Botany is an international peer-reviewed scientific journal dedicated to publish high quality original research in the field of plant sciences. Scope of the journal includes: cell and molecular biology, ecology, mycology and plant pathology, phycology, physiology and biochemistry, structure and development, systematics, phytogeography and paleobotany.

Cover Art
Rhodora - The New England Botanical Club, Inc.
Rhodora is a journal of botany devoted primarily to the flora of North America. It has been in publication continuously since 1899. This peer-reviewed quarterly comprises 400-500 pages per year.

Cover Art
Studies in Mycology - CBS-KNAW Fungal Biodiversity Centre
The CBS taxonomy series "Studies in Mycology" is an international journal which publishes systematic monographs of filamentous fungi and yeasts, and at occasions the proceedings of special meetings related to all fields of mycology, biotechnology, ecology, molecular biology, pathology and systematics.

Cover Art
Systematic Botany - The American Society of Plant Taxonomists
Systematic Botany publishes original articles pertinent to modern and traditional aspects of systematic botany, including theory as well as application.

Cover Art
Trends in Plant Science - Elsevier Ltd.
Trends in Plant Science is the No. 1 monthly review journal in plant science featuring broad coverage of basic plant science, from molecular biology through to ecology. Succinct and readable Reviews and Opinions on basic research topics provide instant overviews of current thinking and new developments in plant biology. Aimed at researchers, students and teachers, our articles are always authoritative, and are written by both leaders in the field and rising stars.

Cover Art
Weed Science - Weed Science Society of America
Weed Science publishes original research and scholarship in the form of peer-reviewed articles focused on understanding why phenomena occur in agricultural crops. It focuses on fundamental research directly related to all aspects of weed science in agricultural systems.

Cover Art
Weed Technology - Weed Science Society of America
Weed Technology publishes original research and scholarship in the form of peer-reviewed articles focused on understanding how weeds are managed.

Librarian for Sciences

Profile Image
Pat Scott
Contact Info
(570) 320-2400, x7840
LIB139 Madigan Library
Send Email

Assisted by...

Profile Image
Helen Yoas
Contact Info
Madigan Library
LIB137
570-320-2400x7920
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip