Botany: Guides and Handbooks

FNA presents for the first time, in one published reference source, information on the names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized found in North America north of Mexico.

Survey of 506 flowering plant families, which describes distribution, diagnostic features, classification and commercial uses and a distribution map.

This unique book provides tree enthusiasts with a guide based on minimal technical language and excellent photography for identification of 372 tree speciesndash;listed alphabeticallyndash;common to forests of the Eastern United States.For each tree species, their individual form characteristics, habitat and ecology, multiple common names, similar species, derivation of the binomial name, wood uses, wildlife uses, landscape uses, and historical uses are covered.For tree identification enthusiasts, naturalists, foresters, wildlife managers, arboreta, botanical gardens, and natural resource managers.

Includes more than 350 of the best-known medicinal plants of the world and their uses, in a compact, colorful and scientifically accurate reference text.

This compendium provides a wealth of information about food plants, including descriptions, historical and current uses, and nutritive values. It covers fruit, vegetables and spices worldwide, with an emphasis on edible plants.

The second edition of The Plants of Pennsylvania is the authoritative guide to identifying the nearly 3,400 species of flowering plants, ferns, and gymnosperms native or naturalized in the Commonwealth. It features a complete reorganization into a genetic scheme that reflects recent advances in our understanding of plant relationships.

"The first edition was widely praised for its wide coverage, ease of use and superb illustrations. The second edition has been greatly expanded, with special attention to North America. Covers biology, distribution, poison symptoms and treatment. From the publisher's announcement: 'Complete revision of the first edition containing additional text and illustrative material. This book comprehensively identifies potentially dangerous plants, their level of toxicity, symptoms of poisoning and suggested treatment. References have been brought up-to-date and there is a new glossary of botanical terms. Illustrations range from actual size colour and black/white photos to enlarged representations of microscopically recognisable features in fruits and leaves. The new edition will prove a valuable reference for a wide range of professional groups, for many years to come.'" --NHBS Environment Bookstore.

Black maples can tower to eighty-five feet. Artisans craft fine musical instruments from the wood of native red spruces. And in autumn, the leaves of sugar maples turn brilliant orange-gloriously coloring Penn's Woods. The naturalist, forester, or weekend observer will discover all this and more inTrees of Pennsylvania. Written by botanists at the Morris Arboretum, the official arboretum of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, this is the most comprehensive, authoritative, and accessible field and natural history guide to the state's tree life. Ann Rhoads and Timothy Block cover all of Pennsylvania's 195 trees, both native and naturalized. Each species is described in a concise, tabular format that includes the characteristics of leaves, branches, bark, flowers, and fruits. The authors discuss flowering and fruiting time, autumn leaf color, and the size of the largest specimen recorded within the state. Rhoads and Block further provide valuable historical, ecological, and economic information on each tree species, including how Pennsylvania's trees were used by Native Americans and early European settlers. This fully illustrated, user-friendly volume contains a combination of line drawings by botanical artist Anna Anisko, color photographs, range maps, and identification keys so readers will be able accurately to identify each tree species. It also offers useful information on the biology of trees, the history of Pennsylvania's many forests, and important lists of the endangered, threatened, and rare trees within the state. This is an indispensable guide for anyone interested in Pennsylvania's natural history and tree life.

The 6-volume Wild Flowers of the United States is a monumental botanical work, written in nontechnical language for the amateur, with each species illustrated in color photographs. Sponsored by the New York Botanical Garden, the project was edited by Dr. William C. Steere, director of the NYBG; written by Dr. Harold Rickett, Senior Botanist; and published by McGraw-Hill Book Company. The manuscript of the book is present, as well as a complete list of contributing photographers. The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence with photographers and administrative materials, including advisory committee recommendations and budgetary information.The six volumes (in fourteen parts and an index) are divided by geographical region. Volume 1: Northeastern states, Volume 2: Southeastern states, Volume 3: Texas, Volume 4: Southwest, Volume 5: Northwest, Volume 6: Rocky Mountains and Great Plains and an Index. The first volume was published in 1966, the final one in 1973.

Provides access to essential information on plant hosts and on symptoms. New and updated material includes: significant taxonomic changes in fungi, bacteria, viruses and nematodes; recently discovered diseases and new hosts for previously known plant-pathogens; changes in chemicals and pesticides and changes in regulations governing their use; integrated pest management and biological control.