Research Guides: Botany: Find Articles

Find Articles Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles covering the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and others.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database including periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Wide range of biology-related topics:: biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, cytology and histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy, and zoology.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Offers authoritative content on emerging green technologies and issues on the environment and sustainability. Includes international newspapers, magazines, referred journals, videos, podcasts, images, and searchable case studies.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, materials science, computing, telecommunications, transportation, aerospace, climate, and more.

SEARCH This link opens in a new window
The USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. Covers all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines from (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC).

AGRIS by Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Publication Date: 1975-date
AGRIS is the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. It was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture.
Index to American Botanical Literature by New York Botanical Garden
Publication Date: 1996-date
Contains entries dealing with various aspects of extant and fossil American plants and fungi, including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology, as well as economic botany and general botany (publications dealing with botanists, herbaria, etc.). ‘America’ is defined in the broadest possible sense, encompassing land and marine plants and fungi from Greenland to Antarctica. American territory outside this area, e.g., Hawaii, is not included.

Kew Economic Botany Collection Database
Contains about 90,000 plant raw materials and artefacts representing all aspects of craft and daily life worldwide, including medicines, textiles, basketry, dyes, gums and resins, foods and woods.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Be sure to use this link to see full-text options available through Madigan Library.

Journal Locator
Search for the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper in which your article appears.