Research Guides: ACR251 Warm-Air Heating & Duct Design: Find Articles

Find Articles Using...

Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Research on virtually any technical topic, including: computing science; healthcare; building trades; auto mechanics; sales and retail; accounting; graphic design; and photography.
Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging subjects such as alcohol & drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer & data processing, CAD, electrical technology, forensics, graphic art, health information technology, law enforcement & criminal justice, robotics, and more.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers authoritative content on emerging green technologies and issues on the environment and sustainability. Includes international newspapers, magazines, referred journals, videos, podcasts, images, and searchable case studies.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers human impact to the environment. Subjects include environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments, climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in social sciences, business, humanities, science, medicine, dentistry, radiology, nursing, emergency medicine, biology, materials science, engineering, and sports medicine.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Simplifies browsing through Gale's publications and documents in one platform.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database including periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other reputable websites.

If you are on-campus, Google Scholar will show you journals that the Madigan Library pays for by using the Get It @ Madigan Library link. If you are off-campus, you can set Google Scholar to see all of Madigan Library access to full-text articles using the PDF directions below, or use our Journal Locator to find out if Penn College students have access to the journal.

Air Conditioning, Heating & Refrigeration News by BNP Media
HVACR contractor’s weekly newsmagazine and is the industry’s most trusted and utilized direct communications link to the HVACR buyer. The NEWS assists the decision-makers from all branches of the air conditioning, heating, and refrigeration industry (residential, commercial, and industrial). In addition to contractors, these include manufacturers, distributors, parts and supply wholesalers, and service companies and their administrative, sales, engineering, production, and installation departments.
ASHRAE Journal by ASHRAE
- This link opens in a new window
The official monthly publication of the Society, the Journal speaks to and for the HVAC design specialist. Articles submitted to the Journal are peer-reviewed by member engineers with expertise in the subject area of the article. ASHRAE Journal explores topical technical issues, such as: indoor air quality, energy management, thermal storage, alternative refrigerants, fire and life safety and more.
ASHRAE Transactions by ASHRAE
ASHRAE Transactions is the official record of research and technical information of permanent interest and archival value presented at ASHRAE’s Annual and Winter Conferences, the world’s foremost forums for the presentation of research and application data and experience in the fields of heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration and the field of building technology in general.
Building Services Engineering Research and Technology by SAGE
Building Services Engineering Research & Technology is one of the foremost, international peer reviewed journals that publishes the highest quality original research relevant to today’s Built Environment. Published in conjunction with CIBSE, this impressive journal reports on the latest research providing you with an invaluable guide to recent developments in the field. BSER&T covers the full range of energy and environmental services in buildings, including: heating, ventilation, air conditioning, building, electrical services, building acoustics, water supply and sanitation, and vertical transport.
Building Simulation by Springer
Building Simulation: An International Journal publishes original, high quality, peer-reviewed research papers and review articles dealing with modeling and simulation of buildings including their systems. The goal is to promote the field of building science and technology to such a level that modeling will eventually be used in every aspect of building construction as a routine instead of an exception. Of particular interest are papers that reflect recent developments and applications of modeling tools and their impact on advances of building science and technology. Paper submission is solicited for the following five fixed sections: A: Building thermal, lighting, and acoustics modeling B: Building systems and components C: Indoor/outdoor airflow and air quality D: Architecture and human behavior E: Advances in modeling and simulation tools The above scope will develop as the field of building simulation evolves. Authors are encouraged to contribute papers from different angles of interest, making Building Simulation: An International Journal a dynamic channel and valuable resource for new scientific findings and engineering applications.
Contracting Business by Penton
Contracting Business is the leading business-to-business magazine for commercial, residential, and industrial contractors in the HVACR industry. It has the largest contractor circulation and retains the readership of the industry’s best, most progressive contractors and dealers.
Contractor by Penton
Contractor magazine reaches owners and managers of mechanical contracting firms involved in plumbing, heating, specialty piping and fire protection. Since 1954, mechanical contractors have relied on CONTRACTOR as their #1 news magazine and source for industry news, market trends, business management advice, and new products.
Engineered Systems by BNP Media
Engineered Systems (ES) Magazine provides practical, energy-efficient solutions for mechanical engineering projects. Whether it's a renovation or new construction, ES delivers new ideas to help your commercial, institutional, industrial, and government buildings achieve LEED and Energy Star certification. Written by engineers for engineers.
Heating/Piping/Air Conditioning Engineering: HPAC Engineering by Penton
- This link opens in a new window
HPAC Engineering, the magazine of mechanical systems engineering, is a forum for peer-to-peer communication among engineering professionals in the buildings and construction industries. Its editorial mission is, simply, to help its 35,000 engineering readers provide for human health, safety, and comfort economically, efficiently, and reliably. Articles are solutions-oriented and focused on providing timely, accurate and practical information on the latest HVACR technologies, techniques and tools that HPAC Engineering readers depend on in their daily work. Areas covered include design and sizing, facility and energy management, building automation systems (BAS) and controls, energy and water efficiency, indoor air quality (IAQ), comfort management, and deregulation. HPAC Engineering is also a voice of leadership in the buildings industry, promoting best practices leading to superior building design, construction, operations, maintenance, and performance.
HPAC: Heating Plumbing Air Conditioning by Business Information Group
- This link opens in a new window
Written for mechanical professionals, this magazine is a great resource for innovative ideas, new products, technical information about equipment, system design.
HVAC&R Research by Taylor & Francis
HVAC&R Research offers comprehensive reporting of research in the fields of environmental control for the built environment and cooling technologies for a wide range of applications and related processes and concepts, including underlying thermodynamics, fluid dynamics, and heat transfer. Only works reporting on research that is original and of lasting value are accepted for publication. Included in the ISI Web of Science and Current Contents databases, this bimonthly journal is the archival research publication of ASHRAE, the world’s leading organization for the advancement of HVAC&R technology.
Industrial Heating by BNP Media
Industrial Heating is the world's largest and most comprehensive integrated media resource focusing on high-temperature thermal processing technology, heat treatment and metallurgy. The topics we cover include: heat treating, ceramics and refractories/insulation, combustion and burners, heat- and corrosion-resistant composites/materials, induction heat treating, industrial gases and atmospheres, materials characterization and testing, melting/forming/joining, process control and instrumentation, sintering/powder metallurgy and vacuum/surface treatments. Processes such as annealing, brazing, hardening, nitriding, quenching and tempering are often highlighted. Industrial Heating also targets industries including aerospace, automotive, defense, medical, mining and drilling equipment, oil & gas, power generation, recycling and many more.
Journal of Building Physics by SAGE
Journal of Building Physics (J. Bldg. Phys) is an international, peer-reviewed journal that publishes a high quality research and state of the art “integrated” papers to promote scientifically thorough advancement of all the areas of non-structural performance of a building and particularly in heat, air, moisture transfer.
Process Heating by BNP Media
Process Heating magazine was launched in 1994 to provide a single source for temperature-related information for manufacturing engineers employed in the process industries. Process Heating's articles provide generic (non-company specific) how-to information to heat processing equipment users such as: production engineers, plant engineers, process engineers, production personnel, design engineers, lab and R&D engineering personnel, plant management, and maintenance personnel.
RAC: Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Magazine by EMAP Publishing Ltd.
RAC Magazine is the leading source of news, information and analysis for the refrigeration and air conditioning industry. For over a century, RAC has provided decision makers with unrivalled coverage of the latest technical innovations that drive this sector.
RSES Journal by Refrigeration Service Engineers Society
- This link opens in a new window
RSES Journal’s mission is to provide authoritative, useful information to the RSES Member and the HVACR industry on the installation, maintenance, service and repair of HVACR equipment; new technology; new products; industry trends and issues; business management and customer service; and news about RSES Regional, State and Chapter activities. RSES Journal supports RSES’ mission to provide world-class training and education for its Members and the HVACR industry.
SNIPS Magazine by BNP Media
SNIPS delivers in-depth, insightful journalism that covers the sheet metal, heating, air conditioning, ventilation, indoor air quality, architectural sheet metal and metal roofing industries. Published for more than 80 years, SNIPS continues to be the industry’s leading publication.
Supply House Times by American Supply Association
Supply House Times is an information resource for wholesale distributors of plumbing, industrial PVF, hydronic/radiant and HVAC products.

ACR251 Warm-Air Heating & Duct Design: Find Articles

Find Articles Using...

Work from Anywhere!

Do we own it?

We don't own it...but we can get it for you!