Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search book content for previews or free full-text. If you need more content, go to Buy this book / Get this book in print > Find in a Library to get it at Madigan Library.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Ebook Central, as part of the Proquest One Business Collection, includes authoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers. Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
Forensic Procedures for Boundary and Title Investigation by
Call Number: HD1181 .W55 2008--Circulating Collection--1st Fl.
Publication Date: 2008
Forensic Procedures for Boundary and Title Investigation is the first book to present the application of investigative forensic techniques to the field of land boundary retracement. Covering basic logic, document research, and the interpretation of physical evidence on site, Forensic Procedures for Boundary and Title Investigation is an indispensable guide for surveyors faced with a difficult retracement having little or faulty evidence.
Practical Manual of Land Development, 4th ed. by
Call Number: TA151 .C65 2005--Circulating Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2005
Primarily writing for civil engineers, engineering consultant Colley presents the new edition of her overview and guide to the design of a variety of land development projects. After an introduction to land development and a guide to resources, she presents chapters on site analysis, maps and plans, preliminary engineering, earthwork, roadways and parking lots, sanitary sewers, storm drainage, protecting and conserving water resources, water supply lines, specifications and estimates with the finished plans, and the construction phase. The final chapter, describing step-be-step procedures for the land development process (taking into account laws, politics, and economics) has been added to this new edition. Annotation ©2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Supreme Neglect: How to Revive Constitutional Protection for Private Property by
Call Number: KF562 .E67 2008--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2008
This latest addition to Oxford's Inalienable Rights series provides a succinct, pointed look at property rights in America--how they came to be, how they have evolved, and why they should once again be a mainstay of the law. Richard A. Epstein, the nation's preeminent authority on the subject, examines all aspects of private property--from real estate to air rights to intellectual property. He takes the reader from the strongly protective property rights advocated by the framers of the Constitution through to the weak property rights supported by Progressive and liberal politicians of the twentieth century and finally to our own time, which has seen a renewed appreciation of property rights in the aftermath of the Supreme Court's landmarkKelo v. New Londondecision in 2005. The author's own powerful defense of property rights threads through the narrative. Using both political theory and economic analysis, Epstein argues that above all that private property is a sound social institution, and not just an excuse for selfishness and greed. Only a system of private property lets people form and raise families, organize religious and other charitable organizations, and earn a living through honest labor.
Property: Adaptable to Ninth Edition of Cribbet Casebook by
Call Number: KF570 .N48 2008--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2008
This study aid provides detailed explanation of the cases in the real property casebook by Cribbet. The discussion of each case provides the facts of the case, issues, holdings, and the court's reasoning. This title includes cases that pertain to the acquisition of personal property, private interests in land, public land use controls, and the sale of land.
Real Property in a Nutshell, 6th ed. by
Call Number: KF570 .Z9 B47 2010--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2010
Most of the rules covered in standard real property casebooks are summarized in this concise work. For quick reference the text is divided into three sections. Part One overviews interests in land, such as adverse possession, common-law estates, and concurrent ownership. Part Two covers conveyances through real estate brokers, contract of sale, transfer of title by deed, and mortgages. Part Three concludes with a discussion on miscellaneous property doctrines.
Brown's Boundary Control and Legal Principles by
Call Number: KF639 .B7 2009--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2013-12-16
The new edition of Brown's Boundary Control and Legal Principles has been updated to reflect ongoing changes in surveying technology and surveying law, notably by adding water boundary expert George Cole as a contributor to revamp information on Riparian and Littorial Boundaries. Additionally, a new appendix has been introduced containing a comprehensive list of surveying books that have been referenced in court cases and legal decisions as persuasive authority over the years. It is indispensable reading for students and practicioners studying for the Fundamentals of Land Surveying licensure exam.
Evidence and Procedures for Boundary Location, 6th ed. by
Call Number: KF639 .B73 2011--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2011
Professional surveyors and many civil engineers must understand the laws of boundaries and the evidence necessary for efficient and accurate boundary determination. This new edition of the preeminent text/reference on the subject is brought completely up to date, with new material on the use of technology in surveying and its legal ramifications, the use of forensic investigative techniques in the discovery of obscured evidence, new case law examples throughout, and new exhibits help illustrate the concepts presented.
Boundary Law in Pennsylvania by
Call Number: KFP123 .B6 B68 2001--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2001
It is not uncommon for real estate and general practitioners to handle boundary dispute issues involving driveways, roads, common walls, plantings, and streams. This informative book is designed to provide you with a solid foundation in these matters. Learn about the important statutes and case law in Pennsylvania with an overview of conflicts that arise and practical methods for resolving them.
Essentials of Practical Real Estate Law by
Call Number: KF665 .H52 2012--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2011-02-14
ESSENTIALS OF PRACTICAL REAL ESTATE LAW, 5th edition is a concise, yet thorough examination of the most critical areas of real estate law. It employs a user-friendly approach to introducing important real property law concepts. The text details the transactional aspects of the law needed to assist attorneys with closing real estate purchases, sales, and mortgage loans secured by real estate. It includes case summaries that allow the reader to practice analytical skills and see how concepts are applied in practice. Each chapter includes practical assignments and a self-study examination to help reinforce understanding of the material contained in the chapter. The numerous forms and checklists also facilitate understanding of each concept and ensure that the reader is well prepared to work as a professional in real estate. The legal theory, tips, checklists, relevant forms, case summaries, and assignments assist in understanding how to successfully work in a real-world environment.
Understanding Modern Real Estate Transactions by
Call Number: KF665 .Z9 J638 2012--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
This Understanding treatise explains clearly and succinctly the myriad issues that arise and require discussion in advanced real estate courses. The author focuses on the typical chronology of a residential real estate transaction, from the date the seller decides to sell the real estate by listing it with a broker, to the date the transaction is completed and the deed of sale is recorded in the applicable recorder's office. Although the initial focus is on a residential real estate transaction, Understanding Modern Real Estate Transactions also addresses issues applicable to commercial real estate transactions. This treatise also provides case analysis, focusing on the cases that appear in the most prominent and widely used texts for modern real estate. Numerous simple hypotheticals throughout the text explain the more complicated theories and rules.
Writing Legal Descriptions: In Conjunction with Survey Boundary Control by
Call Number: KF670 .W3 1979--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 1979
This book is a must for anyone who works with or writes legal descriptions. Each of the fourteen chapters is structured for the self teaching student or for class participation. Each chapter concludes with assignments, exercises, questions and answers. Supported by extensive court citations, the author presents the material in a concise style which can be understood by the student, practitioner, or attorney. The text is supported by samples, recommended forms, and extensive illustrations.
Land Surveys: A Guide for Lawyers and Other Professionals, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: KF683 .A75 L36 2000--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2000
This collection of articles assists the lawyer and other professional in determining the procedures and transactions that need to be followed in order to execute a survey of the land in a real estate transaction.
Clark on Surveying and Boundaries by
Call Number: KF683 .C55 1997--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 1997
Since 1922, generations of lawyers & surveyors have worked out the legal pitfalls of retracing original surveys & reestablishing lost & obliterated corners using the late Frank Emerson Clark's classic work A Treatise on the Law of Surveying & Boundaries. The Seventh Edition of Clark on Surveying & Boundaries maintains the proven, easy-to-use format of earlier editions while digesting the latest case law, regulations, & statutes. Cited in decision after decision, Clark on Surveying & Boundaries is recognized by surveyors & lawyers as the authoritative reference on surveying & subdividing public lands.
The Landowner, the Land Surveyor, and the Neighbor: A Layman's Guide to Land Surveys and Property Rights by
Call Number: KF683 .K44 1998--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 1998
This book is offered as a landowner's guide to surveys and property rights. The purpose of this book is to increase the landowner's abilities to understand and protect their property rights and avoid disputs with their neighbors. This is not a technical guide on surveying, nor is it a compendium of property law. This book addresses various topics resulting from statutes, laws and ordinances, as well as many years of experience in the field of land surveying.
Practical Boundary Surveying: Legal and Technical Principles by
Call Number: TA545 .G39 2015--Circulating Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2015
This complete guide to boundary surveying provides landowners, land surveyors and students with the necessary foundation to understand boundary surveying techniques and the common legal issues that govern boundary establishment. Far from a simple engineering function, boundary establishment is often a difficult and delicate matter, with real monetary and legal ramifications if not accomplished accurately. This book helps readers to understand why such challenges exist and what remedies may be available. Using only simple and logically explained mathematics, the principles and practice of boundary surveying are demystified for those without prior experience and the focused coverage of pivotal issues such as easements and setting lot corners will aid even licensed practitioners in untangling thorny cases. Practical advice on using both basic and advanced instruments is included, alongside clear explanations of legal regulations that will impact any surveyor’s work. For those who desire a more in-depth treatment of the mathematical aspects of boundary surveying, the Appendix includes the underlying theory and many examples of typical calculations performed by boundary surveyors.
Interpreting Land Records, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: TA545 .W55 2015--Circulating Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2015
Interpreting Land Records is the industry’s most complete guide to researching and understanding the historical records germane to land surveying. Coverage includes boundary retracement and the primary considerations during new boundary establishment, as well as an introduction to historical records and guidance on effective research and interpretation. This new edition includes a new chapter titled “Researching Land Records,” and advice on overcoming common research problems and insight into alternative resources when official records are unavailable. Topical case studies provide helpful, plain-language descriptions of methods, problems, and resolutions, and appendices provide definitions, context, and modern interpretation of historical words and phrases. The text features exhaustive coverage and notes, with hundreds of case law citations annotated with expert insight that gives readers the complete background of the methods and techniques discussed.
Owning and Managing Forests: A Guide to Legal, Financial, and Practical Matters by
Call Number: KF1750 .Z9 M39 2005--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2005
Owning and Managing Forests is both an accessible overview of the privileges, rights, and obligations that accompany forest ownership and a guidebook to help active forest owners and managers use laws to their advantage and avoid the pitfalls of expensive and exhausting litigation. The book is a revised, expanded, and updated edition of Legal Aspects of Owning and Managing Woodlands, published in 1998 by Island Press and named Best Forestry Book of the Year by the National Woodland Owners Association.This edition provides current information on recent changes in property, environmental, and tax laws, while also discussing new directions in forest management. It offers expanded treatment of topics including private property, searching property records, easements, estate planning, timber sale contracts, working with forestry professionals, and how to pass woodlands intact to future generations. The book also describes the many different facets of trusts, changes in forestland taxation methods, and new licensing and certification options. Included, too, is a section on avoiding disputes and how to use alternative dispute resolution methods to avoid costly, troubling, and time-consuming court battles.Owning and Managing Forests provides clear and concise descriptions of often confusing concepts and difficult subjects, and addresses issues in a competent yet conversational tone. Anyone involved with owning or managing forestland will find the book an essential guide and reference.