Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a dictionary?
Subject-specific dictionaries are reference books that contain an alphabetical list of words with information about them that is specific to that particular subject and not necessarily generic like you would find in an average, everyday dictionary.
Lookup Definitions Using...
Black's Law Dictionary by
Call Number: LAW KF156 .B53 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Features more than ten thousand legal terms and includes a dictionary guide and the complete United States Constitution.
Law Dictionary, 6th ed. by
Call Number: LAW KF156 .G53 2010--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2010
Updated to reflect recent modifications in federal and state law, this book is a quick-reference source for lawyers, law students, legal professionals, and interested laypersons. The author defines more than 5,000 legal terms, using nontechnical language that remains legally accurate. Terms are documented with citations and apply to civil procedure, commercial and contract law, constitutional law, criminal law, property law, and torts.
Legal Terminology by
Call Number: LAW KF 240 .B767 2006--Law Collection--2nd Fl.
Publication Date: 2006
Legal Terminology for Legal Professionals serves a host of professionals, from attorneys and law students to paralegals and court reporters. These professionals will welcome this learning guide and reference tool of over a thousand complex legal terms defined in accessible language and further explained through the use of succinct examples. In contrast to a dictionary format, the narrative format employed groups related terms by topic-specific chapters. For example, in the chapter on domestic relations terms and phrases, students will follow a relationship from a coupleas first meeting, to dating, moving in together, marrying, having children, contemplating divorce, and divorcing. This book gives legal professionals insight into the many terms and phrases they will be expected to know and use in order to succeed in their field.
Prentice Hall Dictionary of Real Estate: A Handy Reference Pocket Edition by
Call Number: REF HD1365 .C69 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Written in plain language this useful, no-nonsense reference contains over real-estate 2,000 terms -- including those that have entered the language of the profession only recently -- from Agency through Zoning, and beyond. Lists major/important real estate web sites. Definitions. Appendices: Amortization Matrix. Financial Calculator Formulae and Keystrokes. Anatomy of a House. Government Rectangular Survey System (Schematic of Township/Range Divisions). Directory of Major Real Estate Related Web Site Addresses.
The Dictionary of Real Estate Appraisal, 5th ed. by
Call Number: REF HD1387 .D435 2010
Publication Date: 2010
This highly anticipated, state-of-the-art reference work includes over 5,000 definitions and terms, as well as seven freestanding glossaries pertaining to business valuation, statistics, architecture, construction, agriculture and the environment.